1, 2 or 3 authors

Give all author names within your in-text citation and name all the authors in your works cited/ bibliography. Name authors in the order they appear in the source. 

In-text:
(Swales and Feak 87)

Works cited/ bibliography:

For the first author, give their name as Surname, First name Initial. (eg, Ritter, Joshua R.). For subsequent authors, give their name as Forename Initial. Surname (eg, Joshua R. Ritter)

4+ authors

In-text:
Give the name of the first author in-text, followed by et al. (the full stop is important!)

For example, (Moore et al. 26)

Works cited/ bibliography:

List all named authors in the works cited/ bibliography, or give the first author followed by et al. Be consistent in your choice.

For the first author, give their name as Surname, First name Initial. (eg, Ritter, Joshua R.). For subsequent authors, give their name as Forename Initial. Surname (eg, Joshua R. Ritter)

OR

In the MLA 8th Edition Handbook it is no longer required to provide the type of source. It is recommended, however, that you consider whether you should provide further information to enable your reader to locate a source.

In order to identify the type of source for your reader, you can follow the MLA 7th Edition guidelines when listing sources in your works cited/ bibliography. One of the elements of your reference should be the medium of publication, such as: ‘print’, ‘web’, ‘performance’ or ‘DVD’. The location of this information will vary slightly depending on the medium. For example:

Add a short description from the title to distinguish the two sources when using them in-text.

You will then be able to distinguish between the two sources in the works cited/ bibliography. In the works cited/ bibliography, repeated use of the same author’s name can be presented using ‘---‘ in place of the name in the second and subsequent uses of that author where all authors of the sources listed are the same. Order the sources alphabetically by title when the name is the same. For example:

If you are citing the same person but individually and in co-authored works you should write their name in full in the works cited/ bibliography for each source cited with different authors, for example:

No author name

It is important to use quality sources to support your arguments and so you should consider carefully the value of using any source when you cannot identify its author.

For online sources, look carefully for named contributors, such as in the ‘about us’ sections. For printed material, look carefully at the publication/ copyright information, which is often on the inside cover of a book or back page of a report.

If you cannot locate the author information, do not use ‘Anon.’ or ‘Anonymous’, instead you could use:

• The name of the organisation in place of the author – (British Museum 23)
• The title of the work/ webpage in the text, in full or in short form, in such a way as to easily locate the source in the list of works cited/ bibliography, with a page number if possible – (The Georgian Assembly Hall 23) or (Georgian Assembly 23).

In the list of works cited/ bibliography, the work would then be listed alphabetically by the first major word of its title, that is, the above would be listed under G.

No publication date

Knowing when a source was created, published, or last updated is important as this helps you to determine the relevance and reliability of the source. Sacred and classical works where dates are not given (precisely) are, however, also commonly used. For online sources, look carefully for created and/ or last updated dates on the page(s).

If the source does not give the date, but you have found reference to it elsewhere, put the date in [ ] to indicate this, adding a ? to emphasise any uncertainty, for example:

If you know an approximate date use ‘c.’, for ‘circa’, for example:

If you cannot locate or estimate a publication date, use ‘n.d.’ for no date in place of the year.

Quotations are word-for-word text included in your work and must be clearly distinguished from your own words and ideas.

Short quotations (of less than four lines of prose or two to three short lines of poetry)

Use a brief phrase within your paragraph or sentence to introduce the quotation, before including it inside double quotation marks “ “. Give the page number for a discursive quotation, inside the end punctuation, for example:

Give the line number(s) for lines of poetry or a play script, for example:

In the Coward example, the name of the poem is given in quotation marks, as it is the title of a poem within a collected edition.

Longer quotations (of more than 4 lines of prose/ poetry)

Use block quotation, without quotation marks, but clearly indented to indicate these words are not your own. Include the page/ line number outside of the end punctuation. For example:

For poetry, either indent the full quotation and left align, or if appropriate, retain the unusual spacing. For example:

The poem’s title will be included in the list of works cited/ bibliography.

A secondary reference/ indirect citation is given when you are referring to a source which you have not read yourself, but have read about in another source, for example referring to Jones’ work that you have read about in Smith.

Avoid using secondary references wherever possible and locate the original source and reference that. Only give a secondary reference where this is not possible and you deem it essential to use the material. It is important to think carefully about using secondary references as the explanation or interpretation of that source by the author you have read may not be accurate. If you must use them, use the following format:

In-text:

In Colleer Abbott's "The Life and Letters of George Darley, Poet and Critic" (qtd. in Chirico 47) ... , 

Works cited/ bibliography:

Chirico, Paul. John Clare and the Imagination of the Reader. Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.

If you are citing works by different authors with the same name, include the initial as well as the last name, or the full first name if the initial is also shared. For example:

Or 

It is important to give a page number in an in-text citation in the following circumstances:

• when quoting directly.
• when referring to a specific detail in a text (for example, a specific theory or idea, an illustration, a table, a set of statistics).

This might mean giving an individual page number or a small range of pages from which you have taken the information. Giving page numbers enables the reader to locate the specific item to which you refer.

Note: Where no page or paragraph number can be given for a source, such as on the web, it is acceptable to just give the name of the author/ organisation in ( ) or to name the author and the source title in the sentence. You can also use ‘n.pag.’ for ‘no pagination’ in your works cited/ bibliography to indicate a lack of page numbering.

You should capitalise the first word, the last word and any major word of a book, journal article, etc. Also, capitalise the first word following a colon in the title.

Usually in-text citations will be included in your word count as they are integral to your argument. This may vary depending on the assignment you are writing and you should confirm this with your module tutor. If in-text citations are included, this does not mean you should leave out citations where they are appropriate. 

In-text:
(Bartley 100)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Surname, Forename. Title of book. Publisher, year.

Chapter in an edited book

In-text:
(Marenbon 45)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Surname, Forename. "Title of chapter." Title of book. Ed. Forename Inital. Surname. Publisher, year. page range.

For one editor use Ed., for two or more editors use Eds.

Edited book

In-text:
(Beebee, Hitchcock and Menzies 4)
Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Editor Surname, Forename., ed. Title of book. Publisher, year. Type (if needed).

For one editor use ed., for two or more editors use eds.

Journal article / paper (print copy)

In-text: (Ritter 409)
Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Surname, Forename, Initial. "Title of article / paper." Name of journal, vol. #, no. #, year: pp. #-#

Journal article / paper (electronic copy)

Normally, this format is used only for journals that do not have a print publication and are published only online, or that have a particular online version. For journals that have both print and online publication, use the referencing format for 'Journal article / paper (print copy)', even if you obtained your copy of the article / paper electronically.

In-text:
(Buss 365)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Surname, Forename, Initial. "Title of article / paper." Name of journal, vol. #, no. #, year: pp. #-#. URL Accessed day month, year.

Newspaper article (with author)

In-text:
(Brady and Dutta 4)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information needed
Surname, Forename, Initial. "Title of article." Name of newspaper. day Mon. year: pp.#-#

Newspaper article (no author)

For a source without an author it is acceptable to use the title, or a shortened version of it, in the in-text citation.

In-text:
(“French Elections” 26)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information needed

"Title of article." Editorial. Name of newspaper. day Mon. year: pp.#-#

Newspaper article (online)

In-text:
Bean highlights the authors’ enthusiasm for the project…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information needed
Surname, Forename, Initial. "Title of article." Name of newspaper. day Mon. year. URL Accessed day Month year.

‘[York]’ has been used to denote the location of a local newspaper if this is not clear from the newspaper’s title.

Website with author

In-text:
Botton highlights the role of six great philosophers…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Surname, Forename Initial. "Title of specific webpage". Name of overall website, day month year. Web. URL Accessed day month year.

This example follows the MLA guidance for listing French names. In the list of works cited, the individual page is given in quotation marks and the overall website in italics. ‘n.d.’ denotes that the page is undated, with only an accessed dated given.

Website with no author

The name of the organisation or the title of the specific webpage can be used if no author name is given.

In-text:
Specific support is available for “Distance Learners”…
OR
The University of York offers specific support to…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Information to include
Organisation. "Title of specific webpage". Name of overall website. day month year. Web. URL Accessed day month year.

In-text: (Education Act 22.2)

Works cited/ bibliography:

The c.21 refers to the chapter, the number of the Act according to those passed during the parliamentary session 2011. 22.2 in the in-text citation denotes section 22 paragraph 2 of the Act. Titles of Acts should not be italicised in text or in the works cited/ bibliography.

It is acceptable to shorten a long title when doing so will not confuse the reader or detract from their ability to match the in-text citation to the reference in the works cited/ bibliography.

In-text:
(Master Atlas 14)
Or
(Master Atlas of Greater London 14)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
In his blog “Supporting Pussy Riot”, Fry expressed…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Use this format if citing the illustrations used with a text, for example in children’s literature

In-text:
In this edition, Mr Toad is portrayed as…(Aitchison 27)
OR
In this edition, Mr Toad is portrayed as…(Grahame 27)

Works cited/ bibliography:

OR

NB: ‘illus.’ is used to denote the illustrator of the source.

If you are reading an English language version of a book originally published in another language follow this example

In-text:
(Larsson, 24)

Works cited/ bibliography:

NB: ‘Trans.’ is used to denote the translator of the source.

Follow this example if you read a book in another language.

In-text:
(Hoops 24)

Works cited/ bibliography:

If a named author is given, use this in-text and for the works cited entry, otherwise use the name of the program. As this is an unusual source, it is recommended to make explicit this is Computer Software.

In-text:
Video of the presentation was produced using Snagit.

Works cited/ bibliography:

Conference proceedings (full)

In-text:
The papers presented in Billings, Boyle and Griffiths…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Conference paper (unpublished)

In-text:
Burge’s presentation discussed…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Either cite the name of the writer or the work, depending on the emphasis in the text. 

In-text:
In the episode “How I got my Nose,” Harvey presents the humorous reminiscences of a young man...
OR
Harvey’s writing in “How I got my Nose” portrays…

Works cited/ bibliography:

OR

In-text:
A Midsummer Night’s Dream expressed the story through the music of Mendelssohn and Brahms.

Works cited/ bibliography:

‘Chor.’ Is used to denote the choreographer of the work.

Database Online (specific content)

In-text:
(Shepperd 2)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Database Online (not referring to specific content)

In-text:
Sources were primarily located using Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Larkham 80)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Dictionary (with editor)

In-text:
(Blackburn 265)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Dictionary (without editor)

In-text:
(“Norm,” def. 1a)

Works cited/ bibliography:

The in-text citation includes the relevant definition being referred to, in place of a page number.

E-book (online)

If page markers are not available on the e-book version you are using cite the chapter for specific references to the source (eg “…” (Berry ch.1)).

In-text:
(Berry 23)

Works cited/ bibliography:

E-book (reader)

If viewing an e-book using an e-book reader it is important to reference the specific version of the publication for this reader. If page markers are not available on the e-book version you are using cite the chapter for specific references to the source (for example, (Collins ch.3)).

In-text:
(Collins 45)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Include the source type (Email), as this is an atypical source. 

In-text:
In correspondence with the author, Johnson suggested…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Encyclopedia (full)

In-text:
Banks’ work collates a range of ideas…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Encyclopedia (entry)

In-text:
With author given - (Mele 270)
OR
With no author given - (“Free Will” 270)

Works cited/ bibliography:

With author given

OR with no author given

It may be worth providing the source type to distinguish a film from a book or play.

In-text:

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas presents two very different experiences of childhood.
OR
Herman directs an emotional story of…

Works cited/ bibliography:

OR

In-text:
(Great Britain. Dept. for Education 36) Or (GB. Dept. for Ed. 36)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Graph, chart, table or figure (print copy)

In-text:
[INSERT FIGURE/ TABLE]
Fig. 1. E. K. Mickson, photograph from When the Heart Decides (1966); rpt. in Stephanie Newell, Ghanaian Popular Fiction: ‘Thrilling Discoveries in Conjugal Life’ and Other Tales (James Curry, 2000; 7.1).

Works cited/ bibliography:

‘rpt.’ stands for ‘reprinted’

Graph, chart, table or figure (online)

In-text:
[INSERT TABLE/ FIGURE]
Fig. 1. Word count by genre. "Shakespeare Text Statistics," OpenSource Shakespeare, (2013).

Works cited/ bibliography:

Interview (conducted by someone else)

If referring to an interview conducted by someone else that has been published in such as a newspaper or journal you can reference in the following way:

In-text:
(Beard, 2012)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Interview (conducted yourself)

If referring to an interview you have conducted as part of your research, consideration needs to be given to confidentiality and interviewee anonymity, as appropriate.

In-text:
During an interview in his study, Smith recalled…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
In his lecture, Jones proposed…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Jones 2)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
In correspondence with the author, Johnson suggested…

Works cited/ bibliography:

Use ‘MS.’ or ‘TS.’ At the end to denote if the letter is a manuscript (handwritten) or typescript (typed).

Each one will have titles and references within it or you can refer to the actual microfiche record number and where it is stored. This is an example of a historical periodical.

In-text:
(Brown 19)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:

The trio performed Vitebsk as part of a programme of…

Works cited/ bibliography:

'Perf.’ refers to the performers of the piece cited

In-text:
The original story of Pucinni’s Tosca…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
Shepherd Group provides a unique insight into…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
Monet’s The Water-Lily Pond demonstrates the artist’s…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Graduate Students’ Association 3)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Online Safety Bill 2.1.a)

Works cited/ bibliography:

The (HL) stands for House of Lords, for a Bill originating in the House of Lords. (HC) shows the Bill originates in the House of Commons. The date represents the parliamentary session and the number is the number of the Bill. Titles of Bills are not italicised in text or in the works cited/ bibliography.

In-text:
Berberet and Bates patented their device…

Works cited/ bibliography:

To cite and reference the programme for a performance such as a play, dance or concert, use the following example:

In-text:
(Foster n.pag)

Works cited/ bibliography:

The reference is for an authored contribution within the overall performance programme. ‘N. pag.’ in this example denotes no pagination, that is, page numbering.

In-text:
Jarche’s Miner with Pit Pony evocatively recalls…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
Yes, Prime Minister revived the television series, using contemporary political references.

Works cited/ bibliography:

If you are citing from a prose play, give the page number(s) for the quotation. If you are citing from a verse play, give the act, scene and line(s) quoted and separated by a full stop.

In-text - prose play:
(Beckett 26)

In-text - verse play:
Iago recognises Othello's good nature: "..." (1.3.390-93).

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Bairstow 3-5)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
Waters admits in his interview with Marc Maron that his trip to Lebanon had a significant impact on him....

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
Reflecting on her career to date, Hart suggested…

Works cited/ bibliography:

These include the Bible, Talmud, Koran, Upanishads, and major classical works, such as the ancient Greek and Roman works. If you are quoting a verse or extract, you should include the detail in the text of the edition of the work you are using (and that will be in your works cited) the first time you cite from it, with the book, and specific details. 

In-text:
The film script at this point echoes the Bible: “And God looked upon the earth, and, behold, it was corrupt; for all flesh had corrupted his way upon the earth.”(Good News Bible, Gen. 6.12).

Works cited/ bibliography:

Reports (online)

In-text:
(NIACE 6)

Works cited/ bibliography:

Reports (hard copy)

In-text:
(Higher Education Academy 5)

Works cited/ bibliography:

This format is for when you read a more recent version of an older work. In the works cited/ bibliography insert the original publication date before the publication information.

In-text:
(Dickens 29)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Warner 16)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
Belle and Sebastian’s “Wrapped up in Books” provides the listener with…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
British Standard Recommendations for Citation of Unpublished Documents details…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
In a conversation with the author, Johnson discussed…

Works cited/ bibliography:

The title of the programme is given in italics and the title of the episode in quotation marks

In-text:
The edition of Panorama “Britain’s Crimes of Honour” explored…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
In correspondence with the author, Johnson suggested…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
(Rice 58)

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text:
The blog was compiled following ELDT guidelines…

Works cited/ bibliography:

‘n.d.’ denotes that the particular page is undated

In-text:
“Against the Day” is available in at least two Japanese translations…

Works cited/ bibliography:

In-text, use either the proper name of the author where known, or if not, just the X pseudonym. In the works cited/ bibliography, give the author’s name if known with the pseudonym in ( )

In-text:
Trump went as far as to claim that the Chinese invented climate change. 

Works cited/ bibliography: