Subject Guides: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education: Find resources

Recommended journals


	The three journals linked here are a useful starting point for colleagues who would like to browse and remain informed about current research and practice. Search via the key SoTL databases to access further resources.

University of York Library catalogue (YorSearch) This link opens in a new window
For help with this resource, take a look at our YorSearch Skills Guide.

Accessibility information
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free search portal powered by Google, which can be used as a database to search for academic-type material such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

For help with this resource, take a look at Searching for information: Google Scholar.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information

Theses & dissertations

University of York PhD/MPhil theses and Masters dissertations, plus theses and dissertations from other institutions.

Quick reference

Oxford Dictionary of Education
Via Oxford Reference Online.

UK government policy publications

Recent publications

Recent publications can be found on the Government publications site.

The Library's online and paper collections

The University maintains substantial holdings of British government publications, in print and online. When researching particular historical events rather than very current affairs this can be very useful. More information.

Departments with responsibility for Universities since 1964

Oversight for Universities was transferred from the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills to the Department for Education in 2016.

The timeline below charts responsibility for Universities since they were first assigned to a government department in 1964.

1964-1992 Department of Education and Science

1992-1995 Department for Education

1995-2001 Department for Education and Employment

2001-2007 Department for Education and Skills

2007-2009 Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills

2009-2016 Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

2016- Department for Education

E-resources Guide: Government publications

Key databases for SoTL

British Education Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education. Sources include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK, plus conference papers and internet grey literature. Some international literature is included.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. The database is updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's bibliographic database. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,900 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For alumni access please the Virtual Library JSTOR section on Alumni Learning.
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information

Other useful databases

OECD iLibrary Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
This database contains an up-to-date selection of comparative education statistics and indicators from OECD and non-OECD countries. It provides information on the human and financial resources invested in education, on access to, progression and completion of education, on how education and learning systems operate, and on the returns on educational investments.

For the Education at a Glance annual reports please see the entry for OECD iLibrary Education Books.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information

Key UK higher education organisations

Advance HE
An independent professional body that supports teaching and learning enhancement in the sector.
Higher Education Policy Institute (HEPI)
An independent and non-partisan body that promotes Higher Education policy debate.
Society for Research into Higher Education (SRHE)
A learned society that aims to advance understanding of higher education through systematic research and scholarship.

Other relevant UK organisations

British Educational Research Association (BERA)
BERA is a membership association and learned society committed to advancing research quality, building research capacity, and fostering research across all educational levels.
Equality Challenge Unit
Works to further and support equality and diversity for staff and students in higher education.
Higher Education Statistics Agency (HESA)
Collects and publishes detailed information about the UK Higher Education sector.
Quality Assurance Agency (QAA)
The independent body entrusted with monitoring and advising on standards and quality in UK higher education.
Staff and Educational Development Association (SEDA)
The professional association for staff and educational developers in the UK, promoting innovation and good practice in higher education.
Universities UK (UUK)
An advocacy organisation for universities, consisting of vice-chancellors and principles.
HEDG (Heads of Educational Development Group)
HEDG provides opportunities for networking, collaboration and discussion for Heads of educational development in H.E.

H.E. news and blogs

York Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Journal

The latest issues of the York Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Journal.

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education

Find resources