Subject Guides: Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education: Welcome

Your Liaison Librarian

Tony Wilson

Book an online appointment with Tony for advice on information searching and Library specialist support

Some quick links to other useful sites

Welcome to the Subject Guide for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) in Higher Education

What is the purpose of the library subject guide?

The SoTL library subject guide brings together a series of resources to help you find material relating to your SoTL project. It also links with the SoTL Network webpages.

Who is the SoTL Library subject guide for?

The guide is designed for all university of York staff who would like to access literature relevant to the scholarship of teaching and learning, including PGCAP and TSLHE participants, members of the SoTL Network, and colleagues looking to develop a scholarship strand to their practice.

Why use the subject guide?

There are a number of benefits to using the links and databases within the subject guide. You can use tools such as the British Education Index to search by subject area. These databases also allow you to limit your searches using various criteria, such as date of publication and/or material type. You can access these slides for tips on how you can use key SoTL databases to search for literature on teaching and learning/your SoTL interests.

Library news

Key databases for SoTL

British Education Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education. Sources include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK, plus conference papers and internet grey literature. Some international literature is included.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. The database is updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's bibliographic database. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,900 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will find content that you are not entitled to access.
A substantial collection of ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, cases, videos and tools for exploring all aspects of the research process from identifying and understanding particular research methods to designing research projects, conducting research and writing up findings.

Included are SAGE's "Little Green Books" (the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series) and "Little Blue Books" (the Qualitative Research Methods series).

Please note that you will also find content that you are not entitled to access.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information

Explore the full range of databases available at York on our E-resources guide .

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education

Welcome

Your Liaison Librarian

Some quick links to other useful sites

Follow us

Welcome to the Subject Guide for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) in Higher Education

Library news

Key databases for SoTL