Skills Guides

Develop your academic and digital skills

Searching Skills Guide

How to search effectively

Academic Writing

Advice and guidance on all aspects of the writing process.

Referencing Style Guides

Advice and examples for referencing resources correctly.

Reference Management

A guide to reference management software (EndNote, Paperpile and Zotero)

Presentations

An extensive look at delivering presentations, with a particular focus on PowerPoint or Google Slides

Welcome to CITY College

Welcome to the CITY College, University of York Europe Campus Subject Guide. Whilst a lot of the resources you need will be available from the Information & Learning Commons (ILC) in Thessaloniki, CITY College students can also access a range of electronic resources from the University of York. These will help to support your studies and enhance your academic experience.

This subject guide brings together all of the additional resources and services available to CITY College students via the University of York Library, as well as our Skills Guides and online training resources which can help you develop your information and digital skills.

CITY College students are welcome to search YorSearch, the University of York library catalogue, but note that you may not be able to access all resources. CITY College students are unable to login to YorSearch.

Resources

The resources available to CITY College students are listed below. Each resource is tagged with the relevant subject areas. You will need to use your University of York username and password to access the resources.

Ejournal collections

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Computer Science
The ACM Digital Library is one of the most comprehensive collections of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. The Digital Library gives access to the ACM's journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters and multimedia titles plus full-text publications from a selection of other publishers.

Please note that ACM Books and ebooks are not included in the University's subscription.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Humanities
Psychology
A wide range of content from Cambridge University Press including journals, research monographs, reference works and textbooks.

Please note that you will not have access to all the content available on Cambridge Core.

Accessibility information
Emerald Journals This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Gives access to the full text of over 100 Emerald titles covering management, library and information management, applied science and technology.

Accessibility information
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore) This link opens in a new window
Computer Science
IEEE Xplore provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. These documents include journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Accessibility information
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Humanities
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information
LION - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Humanities
This resource is a searchable, online library of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, prose and drama. It also provides access to a growing collection of online journals, reference works, author biographies and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Humanities
Psychology
Gives access to over 500 journal titles and thousands of ebooks from Oxford University Press and associated publishers covering subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.

Please note that you will not have access to all the content available on Oxford Academic.

Accessibility information
PsycARTICLES (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Psychology
PsycARTICLES is the American Psychological Association's full text journal database giving access to some of the most highly cited publications in psychology, including all APA journals, the Canadian Psychological Association, the Hogrefe Publishing Group and others. It includes over 115 journals with coverage back to 1894 in some cases.

You will also get access to the content from PsycARTICLES if you search PsycINFO.
Wiley Online Library - Journals This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Humanities
Psychology
A large collection of several hundred full-text journals across a variety of subject areas in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information

Ebook collections

Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Humanities
Psychology
A wide range of content from Cambridge University Press including journals, research monographs, reference works and textbooks.

Please note that you will not have access to all the content available on Cambridge Core.

Accessibility information
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Humanities
Psychology
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects in the arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences. All the titles are written by experts in their field and combine facts, analysis, and new ideas to make challenging topics accessible.

The University has access to the complete Very Short Introductions collection with over 600 titles. The collection is regularly updated with new titles and new editions added every month.

Accessibility information

Other databases and resources

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Humanities
The major biographical work on the people whose lives have shaped and influenced American history and culture. It contains over 18,000 profiles of men and women of all eras, from the famous and infamous to important but lesser-known figures, and is updated quarterly. Entries are cross-referenced and there are links to the online edition of the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.

Accessibility information
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Humanities
The full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition (2002).

Accessibility information
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Humanities
An up-to-date and authoritative guide to the literature across a wide range of topics relevant to the study of linguistics. Sources covered include journal articles, reference works, monographs, book chapters, glossaries and data sources.

Accessibility information
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Psychology
An up-to-date and authoritative guide to the literature across a wide range of topics in psychology. Sources covered include journal articles, reference works, monographs and book chapters.

Accessibility information
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Humanities
An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.

Accessibility information
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Humanities
Search on words, definitions, etymology and quotations. The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with later additions. New and revised entries are added every quarter.

Accessibility information
Oxford Handbooks Online: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Psychology
Access to the full text of complete titles and chapters from titles not yet available in print. You will have access to content published online up to and including the year 2022, plus selected individual titles.

Accessibility information
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Humanities
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries, companions, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online This link opens in a new window
Humanities
More than 1,300 scholarly editions of poetry, prose and drama from the Medieval period to the Renaissance and through the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries including the New Oxford Shakespeare. The editions cover a wide range of subjects including art, history, linguistics, literature, mathematics, philosophy, and religion.

Each title within the collection presents the full text of the work, as established by an authoritative editor, accompanied by the editors record of important variations in that text, and interpretative and explanatory notes. Most also have introductions placing the work and the author in a historical context, and explaining the editorial principles and the history of the text.

Accessibility information
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's bibliographic database. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,900 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Who's Who & Who Was Who This link opens in a new window
Humanities
Gives access to all the entries in the latest edition of Who's Who plus over 100,000 entries from the archives of Whos Who dating back to 1897.

Accessibility information

York Open Lectures
Business and Economics
Computer Science
Humanities
Psychology
More info Less info
Recordings of York Open Lectures on a range of subjects

CITY College

Home

Martin Philip and Tony Wilson

Library Team at the Information & Learning Commons (ILC), CITY College

Help and Skills Training

Welcome to CITY College

Resources

Resources

Ejournal collections

Ebook collections

Other databases and resources