Covers the effectiveness of healthcare intervention, including reviews of literature and references to randomised controlled trials.

Medline is the primary abstracting and indexing service for the medical and biomedical sciences indexing over 4,600 journals. Daily and weekly updates.

The same platform includes access to EMBASE, AMED (Allied and Contemporary Health Medicine), HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) and PsycINFO (useful for mental health topics). Use the "Change" link above the search box to switch to a different resource on the platform.

Covers step by step clinical skills procedures, links to national guidance, plus other features covering assessment.

Embase (also known as the Excerpta Medical Database) covers biomedical and pharmaceutical information, indexing over 3,500 pharmaceutical and biomedical related journals. Updated weekly.

The same platform includes access to Medline, AMED (Allied and Contemporary Health Medicine), HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium) and PsycINFO (useful for mental health topics). Use the "Change" link above the search box to switch to a different resource on the platform.

BMJ Best Practice is a decision-support tool for use at the point of care. Structured around the patient consultation, it aims to present the required information just as it's needed.

Sign in using the "Shibboleth users go here" option (under the Log in tab): choose "UK Access Management Federation for Education and Research (UK)", click "Continue", then search for and select the University of Hull.

Once signed in via Hull, it's a good idea to set up a My BMJ Best Practice account in order to access the personalisation features available.

You can also set up the BMJ Best Practice app.

Databases can be browsed by subject or category.

Databases can be browsed by subject or category.

An index of resources that can be accessed with your NHS Athens account. To change your placement site at any time or request a password reminder see Contacts.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care..

Best Evidence is free web-based app available for clinicians to get access to research and guidelines. City University of London, funded the development of BestEvidence in order to facilitate the use of research evidence to inform and improve learning, practice and policy and thereby improve patient outcomes. It builds on Trip (see above) .

Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

HMIC is a bibliographic database containing information from DH Data (produced by the Department of Health) and the King’s Fund Information and Library Service database. Coverage includes official publications, journal articles and grey literature in the areas of health service policy, management and administration (with an emphasis on the NHS), primary care, public health, and social care. Updated bi-monthly.

The KSR Evidence database includes systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and certain health technology assessment (HTA) reports published since 2015 and currently contains over 25,000 critical appraisals and over 200,000 systematic reviews.

SCOPUS is the world's largest abstract and indexing database with over 33 million records. It covers peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Select Shibboleth > UK Federation.

BoB is an on demand TV and radio service for education. This academically-focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels, and search our archive of over 2 million broadcasts. .

For information on activating and accessing Complete Anatomy see the More info link for the resource on the eYork E-resource guide.

Content includes a selection of images from the Getty archive on subject areas including medicine, and a selection of videos for educational use.

MediaPlus is now hosted by Alexander Street. All Jisc-licensed news, film, image and music content including high profile collections such as ITN, Getty images and Wellcome Library images and sound will be available, but new content, services and benefits will also be included, hence the name MediaPlus.

JoVE publishes high quality, highly engaging scientific video demonstrations designed for faculty and students. Through these video demonstrations, users at subscribed institutions obtain: Increased productivity and reproducibility Quicker comprehension of scientific concepts and experimental methods Expanded research dissemination Savings for laboratory budgets and schedules Increased speed of learning in laboratory and classroom environments Consistent growth in student success, learning outcomes, and STEM retention.

Scran gives educational access to digital materials representing material culture and history via an archive of almost 500,000 images, videos and audio tracks sourced from museums, galleries, archives and media organisations. The materials in Scran can be accessed and used under the terms of an institutional licence.Access is via York.

Long list of on-line tutorials and simulators.

Not really downloadable images, but very nice interactive microscope with histology images that can be enlarged up to 20x.

The Wellcome Images Collection has an archive of over 160000 images of the history of medicine, from antiquity to the birth and development of modern Western medicine, reflecting the remarkable diversity of the interests of Sir Henry Wellcome. Free to download images.