Subject Guides: Health Sciences: Welcome

Your Liaison Librarian

David Brown

General enquiries:
lib-healthsci@york.ac.uk
01904 323846

Book an online appointment:
Meet with me to discuss how I can help you make the most of the Library and our resources.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination:
Contact David by email directly.

International Humanitarian Affairs:
See the Subject Guide for Humanitarian Response and Development.

Support for researchers:
Contact our specialist Open Research team.

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Health Sciences

Welcome to this Subject Guide, which brings together key resources and information for students and staff.

If you're brand new to York (or even if you aren't...) you may find our New Students Quickstart Guide useful. It will give you a To Do list to get you started; if you have any questions, let us know. In the meantime, go on a Virtual Tour of the Library.

Some quick links to other useful sites

Referencing guide for Health Sciences

The Health Sciences department uses the Harvard referencing style.

Click here to see the Harvard referencing style guide.

An introduction to Gale Primary Sources and Gale Digital Scholar Lab

Watch this video to learn more about Gale Digital Scholar Lab and the wide variety of text data mining applications available within it. As well as integrating with the Gale Primary Sources collections that the Library owns, the Lab can be used to analyse your own text based datasets, so is of value to all research disciplines.

You can access all of the resources listed within the video via our E-Resources Guide

Please note - the new Gale Primary Sources titles described within the video are expected to be available from February 2023.

Library news

Key databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCOhost New UI)
You can still access CINAHL Complete on the Classic interface until 31st December 2025. See MyEBSCO data for how to access data on the New UI saved in MyEBSCO on the Classic interface. There is also important information about Custom Folders, which have not been migrated to the New UI.

CINAHL Complete indexes over 3,500 English language journals in the area of nursing and allied health and includes full text from more than 700 journals. Selected journals in related fields are also indexed together with books, dissertations, and conference procedures in the area of nursing. CINAHL Complete also includes material previously indexed in the separate PreCINAHL database.

Updated weekly.

Accessibility information
MEDLINE (Ovid)
This searches all MEDLINE segments from 1946 onwards including ahead of print, in-process and other non-indexed citations.

Primary abstracting and indexing service for the medical and biomedical sciences indexing over 4,600 journals. Provides information on:

- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- Allied health
- Pre-clinical sciences

As well as the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and healthcare:

- Biology
- Environmental science
- Marine biology
- Plant and animal science
- Biophysics
- Chemistry

Medline is the electronic version of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

Daily and weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.
Cochrane Library (Wiley)
The Cochrane Library presents the work of the not-for profit Cochrane Collaboration and others interested in assembling best evidence on the effects of health care. It is made up of a number of databases including:

- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
- The Cochrane Methodology Register
- Health Technology Assessment Database
- NHS Economic Evaluations Database
- About The Cochrane Collaboration

Updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.

Accessibility information
Evidence Based Health Collection (Ovid)

The Evidence Based Health Collection (EBHC) brings together a collection of evidence-based content resources to help guide clinical decisions and patient care:

KSR Evidence
The KSR Evidence database includes systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and certain health technology assessment (HTA) reports published since 2015 and currently contains over 25,000 critical appraisals and over 200,000 systematic reviews.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
EGT is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical practice guideline content, providing summaries and appraisals (TRUST Scorecards) of guidelines developed from systematic reviews. ECRI’s TRUST Scorecards identify how the guidelines adhere to the National Academy of Medicine (Institute of Medicine) standards for trustworthiness.

Family Physicians Inquiries Network: Evidence-Based Practice
Evidence-Based Practice, a monthly journal focused on providing answers to some of the most important and common questions derived from patient care experiences and the newest practice changing medical literature.

Lippincott Advisor Clinical Guideline Summaries
Guideline summaries condensed and extracted from lengthy practice guidelines by Lippincott Solution’s team of clinical experts.

Explore the full range of databases for Health Sciences in the Find resources page.

Clinical skills resources

The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures
Available as an e-book

Clinicalskills.net

Illustrated clinical skills guidelines covering over 220 procedures. Information is evidence-based and presented in an accessible visual format including graphics, text and references with links to key national guidance.

The procedures and guidance are updated regularly by specialist authors and editors.

Health Sciences

Welcome