Subject Guides: Economics: Journal articles

Finding journals

Not all our journals are on BrowZine however you can check YorSearch to definitively see if we subscribe to a particular title.

Google Scholar

Search for academic publications: journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports. Not everything you find is free-to-access.

When you're connected to the campus network, Google Scholar interfaces with University of York Library holdings, and provides a link to the full-text article where available.

You can set this up on any network: from the Google Scholar settings page, choose Library Links. Search for 'York', select 'University of York UK' from the list, and then Save.

Bibliographic databases

ASSIA (ProQuest)
ASSIA (Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts) indexes around 650 English language social science journals. Subject coverage includes social services, health, employment, ethnic studies, education, criminology, and related areas.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

A bibliographic database is a searchable source of comprehensive information about publications: books, journal articles, working papers and more.

Some bibliographic databases incorporate the full text of the publications indexed. Others interface with the Library's directory of subscriptions, to provide easy access to the full text on the host website wherever possible.

Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost New UI)
You can still access Business Source Premier on the Classic interface until 31st December 2025. See MyEBSCO data for how to access data on the New UI saved in MyEBSCO on the Classic interface. There is also important information about Custom Folders, which have not been migrated to the New UI.

The full text of articles from almost 8,200 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This includes the Harvard Business Review back to the first issue in 1922, and most other journals included back to 1965. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

Accessibility information
EconLit (Ovid)

EconLit provides electronic access to the Periodicals Index from Journal of Economic Literature and its predecessors. The database consists of bibliographic records for the world’s economic literature, compiled by the American Economic Association. Over 400 major journals are indexed, as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, conference proceedings etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Abstracts have been added to some records from 1987.

Note that EconLit does not include the review articles published within Journal of Economic Literature. For electronic access to these articles, follow the link from the University of York Library catalogue to the e-journal.

EconPapers (from RePEc)
The world's largest collection of online Economics working papers, journal articles and software.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
A collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 76 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics.

Scopus
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.

An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information

Database Guides

ASSIA helpsheet
A guide to ASSIA and other ProQuest resources such as Social Services Abstracts and PAIS International

You can click in the E-resources list to access a help guide for the resource. Further helpsheets are provided below:

Business Source Premier helpsheet
A guide to using Business Source Premier and other EBSCO databases such as Criminal Justice Abstracts.
Google Scholar helpsheet
A quick guide on how to use Google Scholar to find documents available to the University of York.
Nexis UK helpsheet
A guide to using the Nexis UK newspaper database
OECD iLibrary Statistics worksheet
A guide to using OECD iLibrary Statistics
Web of Knowledge Citation Index guide
A guide to the Social Sciences Citation Index and related resources.