Subject Guides: Business, Management and Finance: News and Market Data

News

The Financial Times
We have a full subscription to FT.com with newspaper and web content from 2005.
More Info Less info
Note:
The first time you use FT.com you will need to register via the link above using your University of York email address.

After you have registered you can login direct at FT.com: Select Sign In > Enter your University of York email address > Click the SSO Sign in button > Login using your IT username and password.

You can login direct at FT.com from both on and off-campus.
The Economist, London edition. 2000-
In addition to online access 2000-, the Library subscribes to the printed edition: the current issue can be found in the Morrell Lounge on the ground floor, and 1991- in G Periodicals, Compact Store 1.

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information

Read our Practical Guide to Finding Data

Social and economic data

Bank of England Statistical releases
This site includes a wide range of
international and UK based economic and financial statistics.
CIA World Factbook
Compiled by the United States Central Intelligence Agency, a free source of summary social and economic data for all countries, updated annually. Provides a global ranking for each variable.
data.gov.uk
Designed for the general public, "to help people understand how government works and how policies are made". All publicly-released UK government data in one searchable website.

Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) This link opens in a new window
- see entry for UK Data Service.

European Central Bank
This site provides access to all official European
Central Bank (ECB) statistics. The portal also provides options to download
data and comprehensive metadata for each dataset. Statistical publications
and dashboards offer a compilation of key data on selected topics.
Eurostat
The European Commission's official portal to publicly-available social and economic data about EU member states. English, French or German-language interface available.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Maintained by the St Louis Federal
Reserve bank, this site includes a wide range of internal economic statistical
series.

Gender Equality Data and Statistics This link opens in a new window
GenderStats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. It is updated continuously and coverage includes themes that range from health and education to political participation and poverty.
Historical Data UK This link opens in a new window
The UK Historical Data repository has been developed jointly by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics. The site is both a repository of historical UK data and relevant statistical publications, as well as a hub that links to other data websites and sources. The focus is on macroeconomic and financial market data but the site includes a range of disaggregated economic data at a sector, industry and regional level. More granular, historical microdata on the UK economy and other social science data is provided by the UK Data Service repository.
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization) This link opens in a new window
Labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories, dating back to 1952 in some cases. Updated annually. Customised data tables can be created online and downloaded in .csv format.
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Includes 260 years of statistical data covering a wide range of key economic and social indicators. Data is available on the Americas and Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. Data tables can be downloaded as PDFs and/or Excel files.

Accessibility information

International Monetary Fund
A range of time series data on IMF lending,
exchange rates and many other economic and financial indicators.
London Stock Exchange
The London Stock Exchange (LSEG) website showcases LSEG, a global financial markets infrastructure and data provider, encompassing trading, data, and index services. Includes the FTSE 100.

National Statistics (Office for National Statistics) This link opens in a new window
The website of the UK Office for National Statistics. Site includes full texts of the latest press releases (plus a searchable archive); and a substantial collection of free-to-access online statistical publications, such as "The Official Yearbook of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland", "Social Trends", "United Kingdom Economic Accounts", and others (usually most recent edition only). Also Census 2001, and the newly developed Neighbourhood Statistics service, providing access to "a vast range of social and economic aggregate data on a consistent small-area geography" (searchable by postcode).

Accessibility information
OECD Data This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistical databases from the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Coverage includes national accounts, economic indicators, financial affairs, social expenditure, and further series relating to industry, agriculture, energy, employment, health, migration, development and aid, for all 30 OECD member countries and other major economies.

Each data series has a searchable abstract indicating origin, start date, periodicity, content etc. Data tables can be constructed according to your own specifications for viewing online, then exported into a spreadsheet package for further processing.

For information about OECD Health Statistics, please see the separate entry.

Office for National Statistics (ONS)
Data sets covering numerous factors within the UK’s economy, society and population. This data source contains a variety of statistics across multiple subject areas.

Population Reference Bureau - Population and Health Data This link opens in a new window
This database contains data on 136 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Please note that the University has access to the core Statista database. You will not have access to Statista Global Consumer Survey and Statista Company Database.
Statista is a comprehensive statistics platform giving access to over 1.5 million data sets (with more added daily) and revenue forecasts for over 400 industries. Data and statistics are aggregated from 22,500 sources on 85,000 different topics. Updates to data sets, depending on content type, occur monthly, quarterly, six monthly and yearly. Statista also includes many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers.

The University has access to the core Statista database. You will not have access to Statista Global Consumer Survey and Statista Company Database.

Accessibility information
UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
To access data you will need to create a personal account.
Consolidates and integrates four services established and funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC): the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), the Secure Data Service, the Survey Question Bank and elements of the ESRC Census Programme.

The UK Data Service provides a unified point of access to more than 6,000 collections of high quality social and economic data, including UK Census data, government-funded surveys, longitudinal studies, international macrodata, qualitative data and business microdata.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata is maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). It provides a single point of access to a number of leading United Nations statistical databases offering a great starting point for tracing all forms of statistics and statistical indicators. It is replacing the United Nations Common Database.

Sources of data include WHO health data, refugee data from UNHCR, UNESCO data, and World Telecommunications Union statistics among many others. Topics covered encompass the full range of United Nations statistics from population trends, health, international trade and commodity data, human development, demographic and population trends.

Other key features of the site include useful country profiles and glossaries of key terms.

World Bank Data
The Data Catalog is a listing of freely available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports and other resources.
Yahoo! Finance
A collection of financial market data including daily open and closing prices for equity, forex and cryptocurrency markets, amongst others.

Company Reports

Financial data

A company's own corporate website is a good starting point for finding company information and data, eg. M&S. The corporate website, developed for people who are interested in the business, usually contain annual reports and other financial information.

The Library has recently organised a series of training sessions with the database providers you can see below; LSEG/ Refinitiv Workspace, WRDS. You can access recordings of all training in the 'Replay Content' area of the Database Training Library 24/25 VLE site.

BoardEx [WRDS] This link opens in a new window
For access: Undergraduates should use the link above for the day pass, academic staff and postgraduate students can register for a full account.

Subscription provided by the School for Business and Society and the Economics department. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
BoardEx analyzes and tracks the profiles of more than 2 million public, private and not-for-profit organizations and 1.5 million board members, C-suite executives, senior leaders and professional advisors. Coverage starts from 1999 with with compensation data going back to 2009.
Compustat [WRDS] This link opens in a new window
For access: Undergraduates should use the link above for the day pass, academic staff and postgraduate students can register for a full account.

Subscription provided by the School for Business and Society and the Economics department. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
Compustat is a worldwide equities and fixed income database with 99,000 global securities covering 99% of the world's market capitalisation, with company annual and quarterly data going back to 1950.
LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Subscription provided by the School for Business and Society and the Economics department. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
LSEG Workspace gives access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.
Wharton Research Data Services [WRDS] This link opens in a new window
For access: Undergraduates should use the link above for the day pass, academic staff and postgraduate students can register for a full account.

Subscription provided by the School for Business and Society and the Economics department. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
WRDS is a comprehensive data management system which gives access to information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources.

Business and IP Centre Leeds

As well as support for those looking to start, grow or run a business, the Business and IP Centre in Leeds also provides access to a number of eResources. This includes Complete Business Reference Advisor (COBRA) who specialise in business profiles, factsheets and FAME which provides comprehensive information on companies in the UK. Please note, these eResources are only accessible on-site in the Business and IP Centre.

Data tools

Google Public Data Explorer
Use a Google interface to customise and visualize data from free-to-access sources.

Business, Management and Finance

News and Market Data

Finding News and Market Data

News

News Sources

Social and economic data

Social and Economic Data

Company Reports

Company and Market Data

Company information

Financial data

Business and IP Centre Leeds

Data tools

Data Tools