Subject Guides: Politics and International Relations: Resources

Books

Books can be a great place to start your reading around a topic.

Politics and International Relations books are located in the H and HB sections on the first floor of the JB Morrell Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Shelf location	Subject
A	Philosophy
D	Sociology
DA	Social Policy
G	Economics
H	Politics
HA	Public Adminstration
HB	International Relations
J	Law

eBook collections

Cambridge Companions Online: Philosophy, Religion and Culture This link opens in a new window
Specially-commissioned collections of essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.

Accessibility information
HeinOnline Legal Classics Library This link opens in a new window
Gives access to the full text of over 1,300 classic works of legal scholarship and includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world. See the HeinOnline entry for details of the other HeinOnline collections available.

For help with this resource, take a look at the Hein User Guide.

Accessibility information
OECD Publications This link opens in a new window
Gives access to over 30,000 OECD reports, research papers, policy recommendations and case studies.

Online Library of Liberty
More Info Less info
Classic texts about individual liberty, covering 4,000 years from the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace. They are in a variety of formats - facsimile PDFs so scholars can view the original text, HTML for ease of searching and attractive layout, and text-based PDF e-books for personal use.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of complete titles and chapters from titles not yet available in print. You will have access to all content published online from 2012 to 2017, plus selected individual titles.

Accessibility information
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries, companions, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science This link opens in a new window
E-books published by Oxford University Press, featuring original work across many of the key areas of the discipline, from Comparative Politics to Political Theory, International Relations to European Union Studies.

Accessibility information
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic texts in philosophy, covering the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, Germanic studies and sociology.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 500 entries in 35 subject areas, including philosophy of science, aesthetics, history of ideas, feminism, ethics (theoretical and applied), social and political philosophy, and logic. New entries and updates are added on a regular basis.

Leftwich collection

Adrian Leftwich (1940-2013) was a Professor in the Department of Politics, and later research director of the University's Development Leadership Programme. He published many influential books, including States of Development: On the Primacy of Politics in Development (2000), Democracy and Development (1995), and Redefining Politics: People’s Nations and Power (1983).

This virtual bookshelf highlights his collection of books which were donated to the Library in 2013. The subject areas include sociology, South African politics (including Apartheid), political development, African history and Economic development.

To find all the items from this donated collection please see the Leftwich collection in YorSearch.

Search for books and journals on YorSearch

Journals & databases

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by searching the journal title.

If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can browse journals in your subject area on Browzine. Journals are organised by field of research, such as:

Browse all Political Science

American Politics

European Politics

Governments and Political Systems

International Relations

Political Economy

Politics and Society

Bibliographic databases

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

ASSIA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ASSIA (Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts) indexes around 650 English language social science journals. Subject coverage includes social services, health, employment, ethnic studies, education, criminology, and related areas.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepolis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography this is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The full text of articles from almost 8,200 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This includes the Harvard Business Review back to the first issue in 1922, and most other journals included back to 1965. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
EconLit (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
EconLit provides electronic access to the Periodicals Index from Journal of Economic Literature and its predecessors. The database consists of bibliographic records for the world’s economic literature, compiled by the American Economic Association. Over 400 major journals are indexed, as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, conference proceedings etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Abstracts have been added to some records from 1987.

Note that EconLit does not include the review articles published within Journal of Economic Literature. For electronic access to these articles, follow the link from the University of York Library catalogue to the e-journal.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline hosts a large collection of, primarily US focused, full-text law and law-related material including over 1,200 journals. The Library has access to the following collections:

- Law Journal Library
- American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
- Association of American Law Schools (AALS)
- Code of Federal Regulations
- English Reports (1220-1865)
- European Centre for Minority Issues
- Federal Register Library
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
- Legal Classics
- Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
- Philip C. Jessup Library
- Treaties and Agreements Library (U.S.)
- U.S. Attorney General Opinions
- U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
- U.S. Presidential Library
- U.S. Statutes at Large
- U.S. Supreme Court Library

For help with this resource, take a look at the Hein User Guide.

Accessibility information
International Political Science Abstracts (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Published by the International Political Science Association with abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks all over the world.

Online coverage is from 2007 onwards. Print editions of the abstracts from 1951-2006 are available in the Library's Journals collection. Please check YorSearch for further details.

Accessibility information

Journal Citation Reports

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. It monitors almost 300 philosophy journals, as well as online archives and personal websites, and takes submissions from users.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information

Freely available articles

Vox: the Student Journal of Politics, Economics and Philosophy
Published in affiliation with the School of PEP and the Club of PEP at the University of York, to provide a platform for the free exchange of ideas between students and academics across the world.
e-International Relations
"The world's leading website for students of international politics", comprising free articles commissioned from experts in the field, plus student essays, interviews and blogs, curated by a volunteer editorial team of scholars from around the globe.
Stability: International Journal of Security and Development
Open-access and peer-reviewed, cultivating research and analysis by policy-makers, practitioners and academics working in the field of post-conflict development and complex emergencies. Started by University of York PRDU Associate and former Research Fellow, Steven Zyck, with an Editorial Board of internationally recognised development experts.

Politics and International Relations

Resources

Finding Resources

Books

Books

eBook collections

Leftwich collection

Journals & databases

Journals

Bibliographic databases

Databases

Freely available articles