Subject Guides: Humanitarian Response and Development: Human Rights Resources

Search for books and journals on YorSearch

Journals

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by searching the journal title.

If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can browse journals in your subject area on Browzine. Journals are organised by field of research, such as:

Browse all Law

Civil Rights and Discrimination

Courts and Legal Systems

Human Rights Law

Juvenile and Family Law

Law and Society

Journal abbreviations

References to journal articles will often just contain the abbreviated title. For example, the Criminal Law Review would be C.L.R.

To search YorSearch you will need to enter the full-title. If you are unsure what this is, you can use the following resources to look up the full journal title from an abbreviation:

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This website provides a comprehensive directory of the standard abbreviations for English-language legal publications, plus major foreign-language titles. Search by abbreviation to find the full title, or by title to find the correct abbreviation to use in your own references.
Donald Raistrick. Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations (3rd edn, Sweet and Maxwell 2008)
This book is a good guide to legal abbreviations and is in hard copy in the JB Morrell Library. Good if you are in the Library and want to look up an abbreviation quickly without accessing the Internet.

Case law

African Human Rights Case Law Analyser
Freely accessible multilingual collection of African human rights decisions developed by the Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa (IHRDA) and Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems (HURIDOCS). Provides access to the full-text of all decisions from the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights in English.
Institute for Foreign Law Translations
This site provides English translations of decisions from French, German, Austrian and Israeli in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law. Some English translations of French and German statutes are also provided.
International Legal Materials
Reproduces documents reflecting the broad scope and evolution of international law. Each issue contains the full text of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organization resolutions, and other primary documents. In addition, all documents are headed by analytical introductory notes written by legal experts and scholars. *Most recent 2 years not available.*
Law-Cite
Freely accessible international legal case and journal citator developed by the AustLII. Law-Cite can be used to locate judgements and to see how these have been subsequently dealt with and commented upon. There are currently 4,353,089 indexed cases, law reform documents and journal articles included in the system.
Lexis Library - International Cases
Provides comprehensive coverage of United States and Canada case law. Also includes case law from other jurisdictions including Hong Kong (1947-), Malaysia (1955-), New Zealand (1958-), South Africa (1920-), and Singapore (1965-).
Westlaw International
Accessible via the Westlaw UK interface under the services tab at the top of the screen. Provides access to case law from:
• United States (Federal & State) case law from 1658 onwards
• Canadian case law from 1825 onwards
• Australian case law from 1903 onwards
• Hong Kong case law from 1905 onwards

Websites

United Nations Digital Library
Provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format. Includes UN documents, UN voting data, speeches and maps.
United Nations Treaty Database
Provides access to the United Nations Treaty Series and multilateral treaties.
Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
Sets standards to promote and protect human rights. Looks after monitoring and implementation.
European Court of Human Rights
Provides access to case law of the court.
US Department of State
News and current affairs, details of the Department's structure and function, plus background information and publications relating to the Department's activities.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
One of the largest collection of more than 60,000 core human rights documents.

Humanitarian Response and Development

Human Rights Resources

Human Rights Resources

Journals

Journals

Journal abbreviations

Case law

Case Law

Websites

Websites

Non-governmental organisations (NGO)