Subject Guides: Health Sciences: Resources

Books

Books can be a great place to start your reading around a topic.

Medicine and Nursing books are located in the Y section on the first floor of the JB Morrell Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Shelf location	Subject
Y	Medicine and Nursing
Y 0.73	Nursing
Y 4	Public Health
Y 8.2	Midwifery
B	Psychology
D	Social Sciences
J	Law

Additional resources

If you're a member of the Royal College of Nursing (RCN) or the Royal College of Midwives (RCM), you also have access to their full range of online resources. Find out more with the links below.

Search for books and journals on YorSearch

Journals & databases

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by searching the journal title.

If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can browse journals in your subject area on Browzine. Journals are organised by field of research, such as:

Browse all Biomedical and Health Sciences

Diseases

Medical Practice

Nursing

Psychiatry

The Library provides free access to the Nursing Times website for students in the Department of Health Sciences. This includes access to the monthly magazine as well as additional articles, CPD content and careers information on the website.

To register for an account:

Access the Nursing Times website.
Select 'Login/Register' in the top-right. Click 'Register New Account'.
Enter your University of York email address. You must use this email in order to qualify for free access. Click 'Next'.
Ignore the message about a 1-week trial. Once your account has been registered you will be entitled to full access.
Enter a password for your account. It is advisable to use a different password from your University of York credentials.
Complete the required information on the form and click 'Create an Account'.
On the next screen select your communication preferences and click 'Save'. Your account is now ready!

Health Policy

It's important that you keep up-to-date with changes in health policy and governance.

NHS England
Publications, resources and statistics on the work of the NHS.
Department of Health
Information on health care policy and consultations.
World Health Organisation
Information on global health issues.
The King's Fund
National Institute for Health Research
The Patients Association
Royal College of Nursing
Royal College of Midwives

Clinical skills

Clinicalskills.net This link opens in a new window
Illustrated clinical skills guidelines covering over 220 procedures. Information is evidence-based and presented in an accessible visual format including graphics, text and references with links to key national guidance.

The procedures and guidance are updated regularly by specialist authors and editors.

The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures
Also available in print in the library

Databases

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

Key databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete indexes over 3,500 English language journals in the area of nursing and allied health and includes full text from more than 700 journals. Selected journals in related fields are also indexed together with books, dissertations, and conference procedures in the area of nursing. CINAHL Complete also includes material previously indexed in the separate PreCINAHL database.

Updated weekly.

Accessibility information
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library presents the work of the not-for profit Cochrane Collaboration and others interested in assembling best evidence on the effects of health care. It is made up of a number of databases including:

- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
- The Cochrane Methodology Register
- Health Technology Assessment Database
- NHS Economic Evaluations Database
- About The Cochrane Collaboration

Updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.

Accessibility information
Evidence Based Health Collection (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
The Evidence Based Health Collection (EBHC) brings together a collection of evidence-based content resources to help guide clinical decisions and patient care:

KSR Evidence
The KSR Evidence database includes systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and certain health technology assessment (HTA) reports published since 2015 and currently contains over 25,000 critical appraisals and over 200,000 systematic reviews.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
EGT is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical practice guideline content, providing summaries and appraisals (TRUST Scorecards) of guidelines developed from systematic reviews. ECRI’s TRUST Scorecards identify how the guidelines adhere to the National Academy of Medicine (Institute of Medicine) standards for trustworthiness.

Family Physicians Inquiries Network: Evidence-Based Practice
Evidence-Based Practice, a monthly journal focused on providing answers to some of the most important and common questions derived from patient care experiences and the newest practice changing medical literature.

Lippincott Advisor Clinical Guideline Summaries
Guideline summaries condensed and extracted from lengthy practice guidelines by Lippincott Solution’s team of clinical experts.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This searches all MEDLINE segments from 1946 onwards including ahead of print, in-process and other non-indexed citations.
Primary abstracting and indexing service for the medical and biomedical sciences indexing over 4,600 journals. Provides information on:

- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- Allied health
- Pre-clinical sciences

As well as the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and healthcare:

- Biology
- Environmental science
- Marine biology
- Plant and animal science
- Biophysics
- Chemistry

Medline is the electronic version of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

Daily and weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.

Additional health sciences databases

AMED (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
AMED indexes a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.

Updated monthly.
British Nursing Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
British Nursing Index is a database for support of practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the UK or following UK practice. It provides references to literature in the most relevant nursing and midwifery journals. Also included are relevant nursing articles from selected medical, allied health, community and health management journals. Coverage is mainly titles published in the UK, plus a selection of important international nursing titles.
Coverage: 1994 - current

Updated monthly.

Accessibility information
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Also known as the Excerpta Medical Database. EMBASE covers biomedical and pharmaceutical information, indexing over 3,500 pharmaceutical and biomedical related journals. Topics covered include:

- Drug research
- Pharmacology
- Pharmaceutics
- Toxicology
- Clinical and experimental human medicine
- Health policy and management
- Public health
- Occupational health
- Environmental health
- Drug dependence and abuse
- Psychiatry
- Forensic medicine
- Biomedical engineering/instrumentation

Updated daily.
Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
HMIC is a bibliographic database containing information from DH Data (produced by the Department of Health) and the King’s Fund Information and Library Service database.

Coverage includes official publications, journal articles and grey literature in the areas of health service policy, management and administration (with an emphasis on the NHS), primary care, public health, and social care.

Updated bi-monthly.
Maternity and Infant Care (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This MIDIRS produced database contains over 120,000 records indexing journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature. Subject coverage is the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, neonatal care, and the first year of an infants’ life.

Updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's bibliographic database. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,900 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Other useful resources

ASSIA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ASSIA (Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts) indexes around 650 English language social science journals. Subject coverage includes social services, health, employment, ethnic studies, education, criminology, and related areas.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Please see these instructions (login with your University of York IT credentials) for details of how to access Complete Anatomy. To activate the Complete Anatomy app you must register with an @york.ac.uk or @hyms.ac.uk email address and use a redeem code. You will need to use a new redeem code every year from 1st September.
Complete Anatomy is an interactive 3D anatomy app with over 13,000 structures and 12 body systems along with tools such as Cut, Bone Spurs, Pen, Labels, Textbox and other learning materials.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) This link opens in a new window
High quality systematic research reviews of the effectiveness of health care interventions.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Public Health This link opens in a new window
An up-to-date and authoritative guide to the literature across a wide range of topics in public health. Sources covered include journal articles, reference works, monographs and book chapters.

Accessibility information
Oxford Clinical Psychology This link opens in a new window
Clinical psychology titles from Oxford University Press in the areas of forensic mental health assessments, cognitive behavioural therapy, specialty competencies in professional psychology, programs, and treatments.

Accessibility information
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.

Accessibility information
Routledge Handbooks Online: Health & Social Care This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of handbooks covering the areas of health and social care.

Accessibility information
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will find content that you are not entitled to access.
A substantial collection of ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, cases, videos and tools for exploring all aspects of the research process from identifying and understanding particular research methods to designing research projects, conducting research and writing up findings.

Included are SAGE's "Little Green Books" (the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series) and "Little Blue Books" (the Qualitative Research Methods series).

Please note that you will also find content that you are not entitled to access.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
TRIP This link opens in a new window
Designed to search for high quality medical resources on the Internet to support evidence-based practice.

Updated monthly.
UK Clinical Trials Gateway This link opens in a new window
Formerly UK Clinical Research Network Portfolio Database
A database of clinical trials drawn from ClinicalTrials.gov and the ISRCTN registry.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information

Statistics and data

Statista This link opens in a new window
Please note that the University has access to the core Statista database. You will not have access to Statista Global Consumer Survey and Statista Company Database.
Statista is a comprehensive statistics platform giving access to over 1.5 million data sets (with more added daily) and revenue forecasts for over 400 industries. Data and statistics are aggregated from 22,500 sources on 85,000 different topics. Updates to data sets, depending on content type, occur monthly, quarterly, six monthly and yearly. Statista also includes many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers.

The University has access to the core Statista database. You will not have access to Statista Global Consumer Survey and Statista Company Database.

Accessibility information
National Statistics (Office for National Statistics) This link opens in a new window
The website of the UK Office for National Statistics. Site includes full texts of the latest press releases (plus a searchable archive); and a substantial collection of free-to-access online statistical publications, such as "The Official Yearbook of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland", "Social Trends", "United Kingdom Economic Accounts", and others (usually most recent edition only). Also Census 2001, and the newly developed Neighbourhood Statistics service, providing access to "a vast range of social and economic aggregate data on a consistent small-area geography" (searchable by postcode).

Accessibility information
OECD Data This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistical databases from the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Coverage includes national accounts, economic indicators, financial affairs, social expenditure, and further series relating to industry, agriculture, energy, employment, health, migration, development and aid, for all 30 OECD member countries and other major economies.

Each data series has a searchable abstract indicating origin, start date, periodicity, content etc. Data tables can be constructed according to your own specifications for viewing online, then exported into a spreadsheet package for further processing.

For information about OECD Health Statistics, please see the separate entry.
OECD Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
OECD Health Statistics is an interactive database comprising systematically collated data on a variety of key aspects of the health care systems of the OECD countries within their general demographic, economic and social contexts. The data includes over 1,200 indicators on health care systems.
Eurostat This link opens in a new window
The European Commission's official portal to publicly-available social and economic data about EU member states. English, French or German-language interface available.

Accessibility information
Department of Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
A range of statistical information provided by the Department of Health.

Accessibility information

Other useful websites

FoNS Centre for Nursing Innovation
Publications, tools and resources from the Foundation of Nursing Studies.
NHS Choices
Patient-orientated information. Health news feature provides Behind the Headlines analyses of health-related news stories.

Wellcome Images This link opens in a new window
A collection of modern and historical images from the Wellcome Library's collections. A wide range of themes are represented from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.

Accessibility information

Global Index Medicus
Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. .

Health Sciences

Resources

Finding Resources

Books

Books

Additional resources

Journals & databases

Journals

Health Policy

Health Policy

Clinical skills

Clinical Skills

Databases

Databases

Key databases

Additional health sciences databases

Other useful resources

Statistics and data

Statistics and Data

Other useful websites

Websites