Subject Guides: Electronic Engineering (School of Physics, Engineering and Technology): Find Resources

Reading lists

Online reading lists for each module you take may be available on the VLE. Reading lists on Yorkshare link directly to YorSearch (the library catalogue)

Where to find books

Most Engineering books are located on the third floor of the JB Morrell Library, in the U section. Materials relevant to Engineering Management and Music Technology are found, however, in several sections of the Library - always use YorSearch to find what you need.

Please note that this is not a comprehensive list of all subjects but a broad overview of the subject classification and shelf locations.

Click to reveal a list of shelf locations for Electronic Engineering

Accessing Engineering past exam papers

Past exam papers are available on YorSearch at: bit.ly/ExamPapersYork.

Medical Engineering Resources

Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine
IPEM is a charity with more than 4,600 members from healthcare, academia and industry.
EBME Biomedical and clinical engineering
Medical, biomedical and clinical engineering site. Includes articles and discussion forum
IEEE Engineering in Medicine & Biology Society
IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) is the world’s largest international society of biomedical engineers.
American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) is a non-profit organization headquartered in Washington, D.C., representing the most accomplished individuals in the fields of medical and biological engineering

Mechanical Engineering Resources

Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)

Robotic Engineering Resources

Company information on the Web

The company's own corporate website is a good starting point for finding company information. The corporate website, developed for people who are interested in the business, usually contain annual reports and other financial information.

For example, a host of information is available on the British Airways website; the site includes a student information section for students carrying out research on the company.

Websites:

Yahoo! Finance UK & Ireland and sites for other countries USA, China etc.
Companies House WebCHeck look up information on more than 2 million companies.
London Stock Exchange and the LSE free annual reports service
Morningstar
NorthCote
Precision IR
Carol

Societies and other organisations

Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers
IEEE is the world’s largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE's highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.
Institute of Engineering and Technology
Includes Institution news, events, membership, etc. Also information on the Inspec database (covering Physics, Electronics and Computing) and other publications.
Institute of Electronics, Information and Communications engineers (IEICE)
The Institute of Electronics , Information, and Communication Engineers (based in Japan).
International society for optics and photonics
International society for optics and photonics

Data

Practical Guide to Data
This includes links to websites, UK and EU Datasets, International Datasets and provides guidance on data handling.

Finding journals

Search e-journals

Find journal articles

To start a more detailed search for research papers, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search from multiple journals at the same time.

Audio Engineering Society E-Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of articles and papers from 1953 to the present day. It gives access to the full text of all articles from the peer-reviewed Journal of the Audio Engineering Society as well as the Society's convention and conference papers.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of scientific biographies including mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. This e-resource gives access to the full text of the Dictionary of Scientific Biography and the New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

Accessibility information
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including: Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry and Physics back to 1990.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
EconLit (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
EconLit provides electronic access to the Periodicals Index from Journal of Economic Literature and its predecessors. The database consists of bibliographic records for the world’s economic literature, compiled by the American Economic Association. Over 400 major journals are indexed, as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, conference proceedings etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Abstracts have been added to some records from 1987.

Note that EconLit does not include the review articles published within Journal of Economic Literature. For electronic access to these articles, follow the link from the University of York Library catalogue to the e-journal.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore) This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. These documents include journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Accessibility information
Index to Theses (UK) This link opens in a new window
- see entry for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland.
INSPEC Archive 1898 - 1968 (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Gives access to records in INSPEC from 1898 to 1968. INSPEC is a leading abstract publication for information in physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science and information technology.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet provides online access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, the major abstracting services for mathematics. Mathematical Reviews (MR) covers data from 1940 to the present. Both bibliographic data and review texts are available from 1980-present. Bibliographic data is available from 1940-1979. Items listed in the annual indexes of MR but not given an individual review are also included. Current Mathematical Publications (CMP) is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in MR. All items in MR appear first in CMP. CMP data is added daily, while MR data is added each month when the printed issue is complete. The MR record for an item with a review replaces the CMP recorded for that item.

For help with this resource, take a look at the MathSciNet help.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The world's largest full-text scientific database of journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
WorldWideScience.org This link opens in a new window
A free science portal allowing federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org was developed and is maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), an element of the Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy.

Standards available at York

Standards are codes of best practice that contain technical specifications and guidelines about the manufacture of a product or the delivery of a service. They are technical documents.

At York we have access to British Standards through British Standards Online (BSOL). Please note that we do not have access to the unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards that can also be found on BSOL.

We also have access to all current IEEE standards.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The FileOpen plugin is required to open downloaded PDFs in your PDF reader. FileOpen is available on University PCs. For other devices and for further information and advice see the British Standards Institution site. Please note that you must open downloaded PDFs in a PDF reader not in your browser.

Only British and British adopted standards are included in the University's subscription. You will not have access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.
British Standards Online gives access to publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes the full text of over 70,000 current, historic and draft British and British adopted standards including Tracked Changes versions where available, along with; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries. The database is updated daily.

The University's subscription does not include access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.

Accessibility information
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore) This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. These documents include journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Accessibility information

Patents

What is a patent?

A patent protects an invention by law and excludes others from making, using or selling the invention.

At York we have three resources that include patent records: Scopus, IEEE Xplore and SciFinder.

Information about patents (websites)

British Library guide to patents

British Library - patents information for researchers

European Patent Office

UK Intellectual Property Office

United States Patent and Trademark Office

World Intellectual Property Organisation

https://worldwide.espacenet.com/

Google Patents

Databases that include patent records (Scopus, IEEE Xplore, SciFinder)

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore) This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. These documents include journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
You must register to get access to SciFinder-n, please go to the SciFinder registration page (login with your University of York IT credentials).

After registering you can login to SciFinder-n via the title link above. Off-campus you will need to login using your York IT Services username and password and then your SciFinder username and password.

SciFinder-n training material is available.

SciFinder-n is the largest index to chemistry and related literature. It indexes articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry, medicine and related disciplines. It searches across the Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously and includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. SciFinder-n can be searched by topic, author, compound name, molecular formula or structure.

For help and support see the SciFinder-n training material or contact Adrian Whitwood in the Chemistry Department.

Accessibility information

Electronics (and Physics)	U
Acoustics (Physics)	U 4
Acoustic materials and sound absorption	U 4.2
Sound wave propagation	U 4.22
Sonar	U 4.23
Music physics	U 4.3
Optical electronics, lasers	U 5.2
Digital image processing	U 5.7
Electronics	U 7.5
Radio waves, amplifiers	U 7.534
Microwave engineering	U 7.5344
Optical detectors	U 7.54
Particle, electron optics	U 7.56
Communication engineering	U 7.58
Electroacoustic communication	U 7.580412
Microwave communication	U 7.580413
Fibre optic communication	U 7.580414
Satellite communication	U 7.580422
Signal processing	U 7.58043
Electromagnetic compatibility	U 7.580436
Electronic engineering	U 7.581
Instrumentation	U 7.5814
Photoelectric and photoelectric devices	U 7.58142
Integrated circuits; VLSI	U 7.58173
Broadcast engineering	U 7.584
Radio	U 7.5841
Radio waves	U 7.58411
Digital filtering	U 7.584133
Antennas	U 7.584135
Radar	U 7.5848
Telecommunications networks	U 7.5851
Switching	U 7.5857
Television	U 7.588
Imaging	U 7.5881
Speech technology	U 7.5891
Digital audio engineering; MIDI	U 7.5893
Digital electronics, circuits	U 7.6
Solid state electronics	U 7.62
Digital instruments	U 7.7
Control engineering, robotics	U 7.89
Electrical engineering	U 7.9

Electronic Engineering (School of Physics, Engineering and Technology)

Find Resources

Choosing the right resources