Subject Guides: Economics: News and Market Data

News

The Financial Times
We have a full subscription to FT.com with newspaper and web content from 2005.
More Info Less info
Note:
The first time you use FT.com you will need to register via the link above using your University of York email address.

After you have registered you can login direct at FT.com: Select Sign In > Enter your University of York email address > Click the SSO Sign in button > Login using your IT username and password.

You can login direct at FT.com from both on and off-campus.
The Economist, London edition. 2000-
In addition to online access 2000-, the Library subscribes to the printed edition: the current issue can be found in the Morrell Lounge on the ground floor, and 1991- in G Periodicals, Compact Store 1.

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information

Historical News Archives

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 This link opens in a new window
This fully-searchable facsimile edition of the FT offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper from its first issue onwards. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included and shown individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

Accessibility information
Economist Historical Archive, 1843 - 2015 This link opens in a new window
A complete facsimile edition of The Economist with full-colour images, topic and area supplements and surveys, a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.

Accessibility information
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A digitised version of the newspapers, news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers from the Reverend Charles Burney Collection held at the British Library. The collection includes almost 1 million pages from around 1,270 titles and while the majority of these originate from London, there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the colonies.

Accessibility information
17th & 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection gives access to the full text of material from the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Library in Oxford. The collection covers the years 1672 to 1737 and includes more than 300 newspaper and periodical titles along with over 250 pamphlets and broadsheets.

The material covers a broad range of important events and topics in both British and international early modern history, including the Glorious Revolution of 1688, the Jacobite rebellion, the deaths of notable monarchs and the Treaty of Utrecht.

Accessibility information
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes: Parts I & II (1800-1900); Part III (1741-1950); Part IV (1732-1950); Part V (1746-1950); Part VI (Ireland, 1797-1950).

Also known as: 19th Century British Newspapers
A major collection of almost 6.4 million facsimile pages from more than 240 national, regional, and local newspapers published between the 1700's and 1950. The collection includes both daily and weekly publications with titles from established country or university towns, the industrial towns of the Midlands and the North, and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers associated with particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule have also been included along with penny papers aimed at a working class and clerical readership.

Accessibility information
19th Century UK Periodicals, Part 1: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure This link opens in a new window
Formerly 19th Century UK Periodicals Series 1: New Readerships
Provides access to facsimile editions of almost 100 periodicals from the 19th century focusing on women, sports and leisure, children, and humour and satire. The collection is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.

Accessibility information
American Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text archives of American newspapers with page and article facsimile images. The University has access to: Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; New York Times; New York Tribune; Washington Post.

Accessibility information
Guardian, 1821-2003 and Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian from 2004 onward is also available via YorSearch.
The Observer from 2004 onward is also available via YorSearch.
A full text archive of page and article facsimile images of the Guardian (1821 - 2003) and the Observer (1791 - 2003).

Accessibility information
Irish Times, 1859 onwards (excluding the most recent 2 years) and Weekly Irish Times, 1876 - 1958 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Irish Times current content is also available via YorSearch.
A full text archive of page and article facsimile images of The Irish Times (1859 onwards, excluding the most recent 2 years) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876 - 1958). Coverage includes The Times Pictorial.

Accessibility information
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785 until 2019. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.

For The Times from 2020 onwards see the entry: Times 1985 - present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Times of India, 1838 onwards (excluding the most recent 9 years) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Times of India current content is also available via YorSearch.
A full text archive of page and article facsimile images of The Times of India from 1838 onwards (excluding the most recent 9 years).

Accessibility information

Read our Practical Guide to Finding Data

Social and economic data

UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
To access data you will need to create a personal account.
Consolidates and integrates four services established and funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC): the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), the Secure Data Service, the Survey Question Bank and elements of the ESRC Census Programme.

The UK Data Service provides a unified point of access to more than 6,000 collections of high quality social and economic data, including UK Census data, government-funded surveys, longitudinal studies, international macrodata, qualitative data and business microdata.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Statista This link opens in a new window
Please note that the University has access to the core Statista database. You will not have access to Statista Global Consumer Survey and Statista Company Database.
Statista is a comprehensive statistics platform giving access to over 1.5 million data sets (with more added daily) and revenue forecasts for over 400 industries. Data and statistics are aggregated from 22,500 sources on 85,000 different topics. Updates to data sets, depending on content type, occur monthly, quarterly, six monthly and yearly. Statista also includes many thousands of downloadable reports, studies and dossiers.

The University has access to the core Statista database. You will not have access to Statista Global Consumer Survey and Statista Company Database.

Accessibility information

CIA World Factbook
Compiled by the United States Central Intelligence Agency, a free source of summary social and economic data for all countries, updated annually. Provides a global ranking for each variable.
data.gov.uk
Designed for the general public, "to help people understand how government works and how policies are made". All publicly-released UK government data in one searchable website.

Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) This link opens in a new window
- see entry for UK Data Service.
Euromonitor Passport [accessible until 31st March 2025] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The link above allows for personalisation via your University account. If you have not registered before you will need to do so the first time that you use the link. Select Passport as the product to access during registration.

Alternative Euromonitor link that does not allow for personalisation as it gives access based on the University's IP range. No registration is required.
Euromonitor Passport gives access to business intelligence on industries, countries, economies and consumers.

- Intelligence on Countries (internationally comparable demographic, economic and ‘other’ statistics; analysis of business environment and economic outlook; country and regional profiles).
- Intelligence on Industries (market size data for hundreds of consumer products; forward-looking industry analysis and sector reports; company profiles, market shares and brand shares).
- Intelligence on Consumers (detailed income, expenditure and lifestyle statistics; analysis of lifestyles and changing demographics; emerging consumer trends and attitudes).

Eurostat
The European Commission's official portal to publicly-available social and economic data about EU member states. English, French or German-language interface available.

Gender Equality Data and Statistics This link opens in a new window
GenderStats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. It is updated continuously and coverage includes themes that range from health and education to political participation and poverty.
Historical Data UK This link opens in a new window
The UK Historical Data repository has been developed jointly by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics. The site is both a repository of historical UK data and relevant statistical publications, as well as a hub that links to other data websites and sources. The focus is on macroeconomic and financial market data but the site includes a range of disaggregated economic data at a sector, industry and regional level. More granular, historical microdata on the UK economy and other social science data is provided by the UK Data Service repository.
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization) This link opens in a new window
Labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories, dating back to 1952 in some cases. Updated annually. Customised data tables can be created online and downloaded in .csv format.
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Includes 260 years of statistical data covering a wide range of key economic and social indicators. Data is available on the Americas and Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. Data tables can be downloaded as PDFs and/or Excel files.

Accessibility information
National Statistics (Office for National Statistics) This link opens in a new window
The website of the UK Office for National Statistics. Site includes full texts of the latest press releases (plus a searchable archive); and a substantial collection of free-to-access online statistical publications, such as "The Official Yearbook of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland", "Social Trends", "United Kingdom Economic Accounts", and others (usually most recent edition only). Also Census 2001, and the newly developed Neighbourhood Statistics service, providing access to "a vast range of social and economic aggregate data on a consistent small-area geography" (searchable by postcode).

Accessibility information
OECD Data This link opens in a new window
A collection of statistical databases from the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Coverage includes national accounts, economic indicators, financial affairs, social expenditure, and further series relating to industry, agriculture, energy, employment, health, migration, development and aid, for all 30 OECD member countries and other major economies.

Each data series has a searchable abstract indicating origin, start date, periodicity, content etc. Data tables can be constructed according to your own specifications for viewing online, then exported into a spreadsheet package for further processing.

For information about OECD Health Statistics, please see the separate entry.
Population Reference Bureau - Population and Health Data This link opens in a new window
This database contains data on 136 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables).
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata is maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). It provides a single point of access to a number of leading United Nations statistical databases offering a great starting point for tracing all forms of statistics and statistical indicators. It is replacing the United Nations Common Database.

Sources of data include WHO health data, refugee data from UNHCR, UNESCO data, and World Telecommunications Union statistics among many others. Topics covered encompass the full range of United Nations statistics from population trends, health, international trade and commodity data, human development, demographic and population trends.

Other key features of the site include useful country profiles and glossaries of key terms.

World Bank Data
The Data Catalog is a listing of freely available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports and other resources.

Company Reports

Company profiles

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Use the Business Source Premier database to find detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. To search for company information, select Company Profiles in the database.
The full text of articles from almost 8,200 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This includes the Harvard Business Review back to the first issue in 1922, and most other journals included back to 1965. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

Oxford Business Group Market Reports
Currently offering 3 years' free access to University of York members - register for a personal account with your University email address.
Covering 34 emerging markets and 20 business sectors, the reports are primary research, written by a team of analysts who spend at least 6 months in each country to offer an accurate analysis of political, macroeconomic and sectoral developments.

Nexis This link opens in a new window
To search for company information, select Company Profiles in the database.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information

Financial data

The company's own corporate website is a good starting point for finding company information and data. The corporate website, developed for people who are interested in the business, usually contain annual reports and other financial information.

Over the last year, the Library organised a series of training sessions with all the databases you can see below; BankFocus, CSMAR, Refinitiv Workspace, WRDS (inc. Compustat, CRSP and ExecuComp). If you were unable to attend the any of the sessions or would like to watch them again, recordings of all training are available in the 'Replay Content' area of the Database Training Library 23/24 VLE site.

Compustat [WRDS] This link opens in a new window
For access: Undergraduates should use the link above for the day pass, academic staff and postgraduate students can register for a full account.

Subscription provided by Economics and Management. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
Compustat is a worldwide equities and fixed income database with 99,000 global securities covering 99% of the world's market capitalisation, with company annual and quarterly data going back to 1950.
LSEG Workspace (formerly Refinitiv Workspace) This link opens in a new window
Subscription provided by Economics and Management. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
LSEG Workspace gives access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.
Wharton Research Data Services [WRDS] This link opens in a new window
For access: Undergraduates should use the link above for the day pass, academic staff and postgraduate students can register for a full account.

Subscription provided by Economics and Management. Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk with any questions or problems with access. The Library does not provide support for this database.
WRDS is a comprehensive data management system which gives access to information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources.

World Trade Organization: International Trade and Market Data
Free-to-access time series data and country profiles.
London Stock Exchange
Morningstar
Yahoo! Finance UK & Ireland
Yahoo! Finance USA

Data tools

Google Public Data Explorer
Use a Google interface to customise and visualize data from free-to-access sources.

websites

Bank of England Statistics
The statistics page that focuses on monetary and financial datasets that are relevent to the Bank of England.
Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy Ministers' profiles, texts of recent speeches and publications, and information for the business community and the general public.
H.M. Treasury Texts of the Chancellor's recent speeches and statements, White/Green Papers, press releases and other official documents and reports.
National Audit Office The independent Government Office which scrutinises public spending on behalf of Parliament and audits the accounts of all government departments and agencies as well as a wide range of other public bodies. Site includes full text of Annual Reports, Press Notices and other publications.

Econ Journal Watch A triannual peer-reviewed journal for scholarly commentary on academic economics, which publishes comments on articles appearing in economics journals and serves as a forum about economics research and the economics profession.
EDIRC (Economics Departments, Institutes and Research Centers in the World) - a classified index to websites of economics departments, associations and societies. Maintained by Christian Zimmerman of the University of Quebec at Montreal.
Economic and Social Research Council The UK's leading agency for funding research and training in social and economic issues.
E-economics An online laboratory, conducting research on behavioural economics. Maintained by Mike Shor of Vanderbilt University.
Glossary of International Economics An index of terminology covering concepts from international economics at the introductory level. Compiled by Prof. Alan Deardorff, University of Michigan.
Adam Smith Institute The Adam Smith Institute has played a crucial role in the development of policy including privatization, regulatory reform and government restructuring". Site provides information about institutional publications, links to other organisations and an interactive weblog of debates on economic issues.
American Economic Association Site includes information about membership, meetings and publications (e.g. Journal of Economic Literature).
Association for Social Economics Site includes information about membership, meetings and publications.
Centre for European Reform (CER) CER is a think-tank based in London. CER publications are a mixture of documents available to purchase and material freely available online.
European Economic Association Site includes information about the EEA's congresses, summer schools and awards.
Institute for Fiscal Studies Site includes details of IFS research and publications and a guide to job opportunities. Especially useful are the UK Budget Analyses: after each Pre-Budget Report, Budget and Spending Review, the IFS publishes analysis of the Chancellor's proposals.
Institute of Economic Affairs Site includes background information on all areas with which the IEA is involved e.g. environment, health, development, plus a section especially for students.
National Bureau of Economic Research Site includes a searchable archive (1994-) of full NBER Working Papers (accessible on the University of York campus network), a range of online data series (currently no restrictions on access), plus links to other relevant sites.
National Institute of Economic and Social Research Site includes full texts of Discussion Papers which can be downloaded without restriction, plus information about research programmes and other publications.
Royal Economic Society Site includes information about membership, conferences and publications (e.g. Economic Journal, Econometrics Journal), plus an archive of recent media briefings.

Resources for Economists on the Internet A collection of more than 1600 sites which can be searched or browsed by theme. An explanatory description is provided for each site. Edited by Bill Goffe, State University of New York and sponsored by the American Economic Association.
Bank for International Settlements An international organisation which fosters cooperation among central banks and other agencies in pursuit of monetary and financial stability. Includes a directory of links to websites of the central banks of 130 countries.
Central Bank Research Hub A facility to promote the dissemination of economic research published by central banks. Produced by The Bank for International Settlements (BIS).
European Central Bank Background information, press releases and publications, plus links to the websites of national banks of European countries.
European Union Information in all EU languages includes news, full texts of official documentation, and background on key issues such as the Euro, legislation, employment etc.
GATSwatch A collection of background texts, official publications, news items and links relating to the WTO's General Agreement on Trade in Services. Compiled by staff of the non-governmental organisations Corporate Europe Observatory and the Transnational Institute.
GATT Digital Library 1947-1994 Provides access to over 30,000 full text documents and reports published by and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) and may be searched by keyword or date. A collaboration between Stanford University and the WTO.
International Labour Organization Includes the full text of many official reports and publications, such as the ILO Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work.
International Monetary Fund Provides background information, press releases and country reports. Also includes substantial free-to-access financial data, such as an archive (1995-, updated daily) of tables of exchange rates in terms of Special Drawing Rights (SDRs).
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Site offers background information on the OECD (including the full text of the latest annual report), considerable amounts of free-to-access statistics.
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development UNCTAD offers an intergovernmental forum for debate, undertakes research, policy analysis and data collection to support debate, and provides technical assistance tailored to the requirements of developing countries.
World Bank Site includes background information on publications and projects, regional and national profiles, summary data including sample tables from the current edition of World Development Indicators.
World Institute for Development Economics Research News about research and conferences, full text of recent Discussion Papers, and instructions on how to download data files from the UN Development Programme World Income Inequality Database.
World Trade Organization Site includes many publications free to download, a substantial directory of links to related sites and links to resources such as working papers, annual reports and the International Trade Statistics for the current year.

Economics

News and Market Data

Finding News and Market Data

News

News Sources