Subject Guides: Computer Science: Resources

Books

Books can be a great place to start your reading around a topic.

Computer Science books are located in the SK section on the third floor of the JB Morrell Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Search for books and journals on YorSearch

Journals & databases

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by searching the journal title.

If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can browse journals in your subject area on Browzine. Journals are organised by field of research, such as:

Browse all Computer and Information Sciences

Artificial Intelligence

Computer and Systems Architecture

Computer Security and Cryptography

Databases and Information Sets

Software Engineering

dblp computer science bibliography The dblp computer science bibliography is the on-line reference for bibliographic information on major computer science publications. It has evolved from an early small experimental web server to a popular open-data service for the computer science community. Our mission at dblp is to support computer science researchers in their daily efforts by providing free access to high-quality bibliographic meta-data and links to the electronic editions of publications. As of May 2016, dblp indexes over 3.3 million publications, published by more than 1.7 million authors. To this end, dblp indexes about than 32,000 journal volumes, more than 31,000 conference or workshop proceedings, and more than 23,000 monographs.
ACM Digital Library A resource of bibliographic information, citations, and full-text articles. Some services are freely available, others require subscription or registration.
Institute of Technology Assessment The ITA deals with the impacts of new technologies on society, the environment and the economy. It carries out scientific technology assessment (TA) on a variety of topics.The results of this work support policy-makers, administration and the public with regard to issues of technology policy.
LearnTechLib Allows you to search peer reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers in the field of educational technology and e-learning.
Free online Dictionary of Computing FOLDOC is a searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architectures, operating systems, networking, theory, mathematics, telecomms, institutions, companies, projects, products and history
Computing Research Repository (CoRR) in arXiv
The Register Computing, electronics, and business news.
TradePub.com A list of trade publication subscriptions available FREE to qualified professionals. You can fill out a subscription form here --online-- and apply for as many trade publications as you wish.
WhatIs.com Search or browse the encyclopedia for definitions on all terms both computing and technical.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide.
British Computer Society (BCS) An industry body for IT professionals, and a Chartered Engineering Institution for Information Technology (IT). With members in over 100 countries around the world, the BCS is the leading professional and learned Society in the field of computers and information systems.
IEEE Computer Society One of the world's leading organizations of computer professionals. One of the IEEE's special interest groups.
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility (CPSR) A non-profit, public interest organization concerned with the effects of computers and technology on society.

Databases

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

Key databases

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore) This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. These documents include journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Accessibility information
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
A searchable bibliographic database covering the literature from 1973 onwards with access to the full text of LNCS volumes from volume 1 (1973) onwards.

Accessibility information
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is one of the most comprehensive collections of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. The Digital Library gives access to the ACM's journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters and multimedia titles plus full-text publications from a selection of other publishers.

Please note that ACM Books and ebooks are not included in the University's subscription.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will find content that you are not entitled to access.
A substantial collection of ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, cases, videos and tools for exploring all aspects of the research process from identifying and understanding particular research methods to designing research projects, conducting research and writing up findings.

Included are SAGE's "Little Green Books" (the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series) and "Little Blue Books" (the Qualitative Research Methods series).

Please note that you will also find content that you are not entitled to access.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

Additional resources

Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including: Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry and Physics back to 1990.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Index to Theses (UK) This link opens in a new window
- see entry for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland.

British Standards Online

Access to the full British Standards is available through British Standards Online (BSOL). Please note that we do not have access to the unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards that can also be found on BSOL.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The FileOpen plugin is required to open downloaded PDFs in your PDF reader. FileOpen is available on University PCs. For other devices and for further information and advice see the British Standards Institution site. Please note that you must open downloaded PDFs in a PDF reader not in your browser.

Only British and British adopted standards are included in the University's subscription. You will not have access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.
British Standards Online gives access to publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes the full text of over 70,000 current, historic and draft British and British adopted standards including Tracked Changes versions where available, along with; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries. The database is updated daily.

The University's subscription does not include access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.

Accessibility information

Computer Science

Resources

Finding Resources

Books

Books

Journals & databases

Journals

websites

Databases

Databases

Key databases

Additional resources

British Standards Online