Subject Guides: Chemistry: Find resources

Finding Journals

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by doing a title search.

Click on the journal title to see the library’s print holdings or the View It link to navigate through to the full-text journal online, if available. Electronic access may be offered by more than one link (e.g. Royal Society of Chemistry or Elsevier SD Freedom Collection) so check which years are available.

Finding Books

Person reading book in book stacks

Chemistry books are located in the V section on the third floor of the JB Morrell Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Finding Web Resources

ChemIndustry
More Info Less info
ChemIndustry.com is a directory and search engine for chemical and related industry professionals. It includes more than 75,000 chemical industry related entities.
Chemical Information Sources
Chemistry Webercises Directory
More Info Less info
A directory for a limited number of educational chemistry resources on the internet. Most of the links are included because of their use in the Wiley book Chemistry Webercises: Adventures and Challenges in Chemistry on the Internet.
Imperial College London, Chemistry department web service
More Info Less info
An excellent starting point for all kinds of chemistry information.
Periodic table
More Info Less info
The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click the tabs at the top to explore each section. Use the buttons above to change your view of the periodic table and view Murray Robertson’s stunning Visual Elements artwork. Click each element to read detailed information.

Societies and other organisations (click to reveal)

General chemistry services (click to reveal)

Chemical Online
More Info Less info
Industry news, leading edge Manufacturers, regulatory updates, latest technology announcements, and much more can be found here.
WebElements
More Info Less info
A very good searchable periodic table. Includes links to other Periodic Tables on the Internet.

Protein chemistry (click to reveal)

Genome database
More Info Less info
This resource organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
Protein Data Bank
More Info Less info
An archive of experimentally determined three-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules.
Structural Classification of Proteins 2
More Info Less info
SCOP2 is a successor of Structural classification of proteins (SCOP). Similarly to SCOP, the main focus of SCOP2 is on proteins that are structurally characterized and deposited in the PDB. Proteins are organized according to their structural and evolutionary relationships, but, in contrast to SCOP, instead of a simple tree-like hierarchy these relationships form a complex network of nodes. Each node represents a relationship of a particular type and is exemplified by a region of protein structure and sequence.
UK Protein and Peptide Science Group
More Info Less info
The Protein and Peptide Science Group (PPSG) is one of the RSC's many Interest Groups. The Interest Groups are member driven groups which exist to benefit RSC members, and the wider chemical science community, in line with the RSC's strategy and charter.

Finding Research Papers

icon

To start a more detailed search for research papers, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search from multiple journals at the same time.

Physical Sciences Data-science Service (formerly Chemical Database Service) This link opens in a new window
A collection of chemical databases provided by an EPSRC-funded National Research Facility.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider, from the Royal Society of Chemistry, is a free-to-access collection of compound data drawn from across the web. It aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository and builds on the collected sources by adding additional properties, related information and links back to original data sources.

Accessibility information
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of scientific biographies including mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. This e-resource gives access to the full text of the Dictionary of Scientific Biography and the New Dictionary of Scientific Biography.

Accessibility information
Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including: Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry and Physics back to 1990.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Index to Theses (UK) This link opens in a new window
- see entry for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland.
MEDLINE (1946 onwards) (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary abstracting and indexing service for the medical and biomedical sciences indexing over 4,600 journals. Provides information on:

- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- Allied health
- Pre-clinical sciences

As well as the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and healthcare:

- Biology
- Environmental science
- Marine biology
- Plant and animal science
- Biophysics
- Chemistry

Medline is the electronic version of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

Daily and weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.
Old MEDLINE (1946-79) (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Primary source for bibliographic information and abstracts for the medical and biomedical sciences from 1946 to 1979. Covers information originally included in Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index and other sources. Provides information on:

- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- Allied health
- Pre-clinical sciences

As well as the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and healthcare:

- Biology
- Environmental science
- Marine biology
- Plant and animal science
- Biophysics
PREMEDLINE In-Process & Non-Indexed Citations (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Previously known as PreMEDLINE. Includes records that are in-process, and temporarily reside in the MEDLINE database until they are indexed Provides information on topics covered by Medline including:

- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- Allied health
- Pre-clinical sciences

As well as the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and healthcare:

- Biology
- Environmental science
- Marine biology
- Plant and animal science
- Biophysics
- Chemistry

Updated daily. Completed records added to Ovid Medline weekly.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.

Accessibility information
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Reaxys searches an extensive collection of organic, organo-metallic, and inorganic chemistry data by structure, substructure, reaction, text, and property data. Reaxys is based on the CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases and draws data from around 3800 journals and patents from various patent offices. The content in Reaxys comes from the following sources:

- The Beilstein Handbook
- The Gmelin Handbook
- Selected literature from 1772 to today
- Organic chemistry and Life Science patents from US (since 1976), World and European (since 1978) patent publications.

For help and support please contact Adrian Whitwood in the Chemistry Department.

Elsevier Reaxys LibGuide.

Accessibility information
Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Gives access to the full text of more than 1850 high quality chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1968 to 2023.

Accessibility information
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The world's largest full-text scientific database of journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information
Science Direct: Methods in Enzymology This link opens in a new window
Gives access to the full text of all volumes from volume 1 (1955) onwards.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
WorldWideScience.org This link opens in a new window
A free science portal allowing federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org was developed and is maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), an element of the Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy.

Theses & dissertations

University of York PhD/MPhil theses and Masters dissertations, plus theses and dissertations from other institutions.

Chemistry

Find resources

Choosing the right resources

Finding Journals

Finding Books

Finding Web Resources

Finding Research Papers

Theses & dissertations

Explore Chemistry Journals

Search e-journals