Subject Guides: Architecture: Resources

Books

Books can be a great place to start your reading around a topic.

Architecture books are located within the wider Art section, shelved under the letter L on the second floor of the JB Morrell Library. There is also a selection of building conservation texts at the King's Manor Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Shelf location	Subject
LA 1.4	Urban Planning - physical
LB	Architecture
LD	Building Conservation
D1.3	Environment - Human Ecology
DA 9.26	Urban Planning - sociology

Yorsearch

Search for books and journals on YorSearch

Journals & databases

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by searching the journal title.

If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can browse journals in your subject area on Browzine. Journals are organised by field of research, such as:

Browse all Arts and Humanities

Architecture

Environmental Sciences

This is a selection of free online architecture resources covering a range of topics and resource types.

Archinect
An online platform created to make architecture more connected and open-minded, and bring together designers from around the world to introduce new ideas from all disciplines
Architecture Foundation
The Architecture Foundation brings together professionals from across the built environment to discuss and act on issues related to design and the built environment.With an emphasis on the city and the critical intersection of architecture and politics, the Architecture Foundation works to effect meaningful change in policy and practice.
Atelier d’Architecture Autogérée / Studio for Self-managed Architecture
A collective platform that conducts explorations actions and research concerning urban mutations and cultural, social and political emerging practices in the contemporary city.
City of York Historic Environment Characterisation Project
Part of English Heritage's characterisation programme, an excellent free tool for tracing changes to the historic environment in York through archaeological and historical evidence.
CityLab
CityLab focuses on the biggest ideas and most pressing issues facing the world’s metropolitan areas and neighborhoods. The site highlights five areas of urban coverage: design, transportation, environment, equity, and life. It also has a new Solutions hub which collects the best ideas and stories for an urbanizing world.
dezeen
dezeen, by its own account, is the world's most popular and influential architecture and design magazine. Its mission is to present a carefully edited selection of the best architecture, design and interiors projects and news from around the world. dezeen was launched in November 2006.
Historic England
Useful information on conservation, research and education.
Historic England - Aerial Archaeology Mapping Explorer
Historic England has made the results of over 30 years of aerial photograph mapping projects freely available online. Use it to explore heritage from ancient settlements to secret Cold War military installations, or to see the complex archaeological landscapes of Hadrian’s Wall, Stonehenge and so much in between.
Historic Environment Scotland
Government department of interest to archaeologists (formerly Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland).
Pelagios Network
A network of researchers, scientists and curators to explore historical place information.
RIBA Royal Institute of British Architects
Information and articles about architects, architecture and projects.
ScienceResearch.com
Allows cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
World Wide Science
World Wide Science is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

Audiovisual collections
Map resources
Rare Books Collection
Theses and Dissertations
York Digital Library (YODL)
York Digital Library (YODL) provides access to over 69,000 resources, which include images, archive material and rare books. Some of the material is public, some of the collections can be accessed by members of the University only and some collections are restricted to students taking certain courses. Remember to login so that you can see the full range of resources available to you.

Databases

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
AnthroSource [accessible until 31st December 2024] This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource. Its powerful search engine makes precision research quick and easy.

AnthroSource is more than a content collection. It is an evolving, interactive repository of research and communications tools designed to bring the most credible and relevant of anthropological scholarship together in one place and to support a strong community of scholars, teachers, and students in the field.

Accessibility information
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will not have access to all Annual Reviews titles.
Titles published by Annual Reviews in the areas of biomedical and life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and economics.

The University subscribes to 18 Annual Reviews titles.

Archaeology Data Service
ArchSearch - national sites and monuments metadata
Archives - data-rich archaeological collections
ADS Library - journals, books and reports; incorporating BIAB.
More Info Less info
Based in York, the Archaeology Data Service supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology. The ADS promotes good practice in the use of digital data in archaeology, it provides technical advice to the research community, and supports the deployment of digital technologies.

BAR Digital Collection Archive (1974-2019) This link opens in a new window
This collection gives access to over 3,000 archaeology reports from BAR Publishing published between 1974 and 2019, including more than 2,500 reports from the BAR International Series and over 500 reports from the BAR British Series.

The collection encompasses all periods from prehistory, through classical archaeology, to 20th century archaeology around the globe. The reports are presented as data rich monographs, edited collections of papers, excavation and site reports and conference proceedings.

Please note that the University does not have access to reports published from 2020 onward.

Accessibility information
BIAB: the British & Irish Archaeological Bibliography (via ADS Library) This link opens in a new window
The BIAB online database contains datasets covering publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.

Accessibility information
Bibliography of the History of Art / Répertoire de la litterature de l'art This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art / Répertoire de la litterature de l'art from the J. Paul Getty Trust covers international literature on the history of art in Europe and the New World. The database surveys the visual arts and material culture from late antiquity to the present. Included are both the fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints) and decorative and applied arts (popular art, folk art). BHA / RILA indexes and abstracts over 1,200 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers' catalogues, doctoral dissertations and microform publications. Abstracts are in either French or English and the thesaurus for data from 1990 is in both languages.
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The FileOpen plugin is required to open downloaded PDFs in your PDF reader. FileOpen is available on University PCs. For other devices and for further information and advice see the British Standards Institution site. Please note that you must open downloaded PDFs in a PDF reader not in your browser.

Only British and British adopted standards are included in the University's subscription. You will not have access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.
British Standards Online gives access to publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes the full text of over 70,000 current, historic and draft British and British adopted standards including Tracked Changes versions where available, along with; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries. The database is updated daily.

The University's subscription does not include access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.

Accessibility information
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is the major bibliographic resource for 19th century research, providing integrated access to 10 indexes covering books, official publications, archives, newspapers, and periodicals at the article level. Currently C19 contains nearly 17 million records but is continuously updated as more records become available.

Accessibility information
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The full-text of volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. The volumes are grouped into topics covering: American History; British History; Economic History; General History; History of Science; History of the Book; Language and Linguistics; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Regional History; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; Warfare.

Accessibility information
Digimap This link opens in a new window
You will need to register for an account the first time you access Digimap.
Maps and map data of Great Britain. The University subscribes to:

- Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection
- Historic Digimap
- Geology Digimap
- Marine Digimap
- Environment Digimap
- Aerial Digimap
- Lidar Digimap
- Global Digimap
- Society Digimap
- Pilot Digimap (free)
- Verisk Digimap (free)
- agCensus Digimap

For Digimap help and information see the Digimap Resource Centre.

Accessibility information
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life from historical to contemporary time periods. The contents are organized by regions, subregions, and cultures and cover over 300 cultures. The material is indexed at the paragraph level by Human Relations Area Files anthropologists using unique subject identifier codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

Accessibility information
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is the most ambitious single digitisation project ever undertaken which offers wide access not only to a century of the nation's intellectual heritage, but also works from earlier periods which were valued and printed or reprinted during the eighteenth century.

A library of over 180,000 eighteenth-century printed books, with more than 33 million scanned facsimile pages. Each title has a full citation record from the English Short Title Catalogue and is fully searchable - including full-text and illustrations multi-disciplinary. A research resource for all disciplines.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Euromonitor Passport [accessible until 31st March 2025] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The link above allows for personalisation via your University account. If you have not registered before you will need to do so the first time that you use the link. Select Passport as the product to access during registration.

Alternative Euromonitor link that does not allow for personalisation as it gives access based on the University's IP range. No registration is required.
Euromonitor Passport gives access to business intelligence on industries, countries, economies and consumers.

- Intelligence on Countries (internationally comparable demographic, economic and ‘other’ statistics; analysis of business environment and economic outlook; country and regional profiles).
- Intelligence on Industries (market size data for hundreds of consumer products; forward-looking industry analysis and sector reports; company profiles, market shares and brand shares).
- Intelligence on Consumers (detailed income, expenditure and lifestyle statistics; analysis of lifestyles and changing demographics; emerging consumer trends and attitudes).
Europeana: the cultural collections of Europe This link opens in a new window
A portal which gives access to digitized books, maps, photographs, film clips, newspapers, paintings, museum objects and archival records drawn from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.

Accessibility information
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns made freely available by EBSCO. It indexes both scholarly and non-scholarly titles, with coverage going back more than 35 years, and contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for certain titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

GreenFILE is also freely available online at http://www.greeninfoonline.com.

Accessibility information
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For alumni access please the Virtual Library JSTOR section on Alumni Learning.
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information
Locating London's Past This link opens in a new window
An interactive map, exploring the social history of early modern and eighteenth century London. Information is drawn from a variety of resources, and includes trial acts from the Old Bailey and archaeological data.
National Statistics (Office for National Statistics) This link opens in a new window
The website of the UK Office for National Statistics. Site includes full texts of the latest press releases (plus a searchable archive); and a substantial collection of free-to-access online statistical publications, such as "The Official Yearbook of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland", "Social Trends", "United Kingdom Economic Accounts", and others (usually most recent edition only). Also Census 2001, and the newly developed Neighbourhood Statistics service, providing access to "a vast range of social and economic aggregate data on a consistent small-area geography" (searchable by postcode).

Accessibility information
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information
Routledge Handbooks Online: Environment & Sustainability This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of handbooks covering the areas of environment and sustainability.

Accessibility information
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The world's largest full-text scientific database of journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
To access data you will need to create a personal account.
Consolidates and integrates four services established and funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC): the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), the Secure Data Service, the Survey Question Bank and elements of the ESRC Census Programme.

The UK Data Service provides a unified point of access to more than 6,000 collections of high quality social and economic data, including UK Census data, government-funded surveys, longitudinal studies, international macrodata, qualitative data and business microdata.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
UNdata This link opens in a new window
UNdata is maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). It provides a single point of access to a number of leading United Nations statistical databases offering a great starting point for tracing all forms of statistics and statistical indicators. It is replacing the United Nations Common Database.

Sources of data include WHO health data, refugee data from UNHCR, UNESCO data, and World Telecommunications Union statistics among many others. Topics covered encompass the full range of United Nations statistics from population trends, health, international trade and commodity data, human development, demographic and population trends.

Other key features of the site include useful country profiles and glossaries of key terms.
Vision of Britain Through Time This link opens in a new window
Created by the Great Britain Historical GIS Project, this resource shows how Britain and it's localities have changed over the centuries by giving access to historical statistics, maps, census reports and travel writing.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Wiley Online Library - Journals This link opens in a new window
A large collection of several hundred full-text journals across a variety of subject areas in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information

Architecture

Resources

Welcome

Finding Resources

Books

Books

Yorsearch

Journals & databases

Journals

Websites

Databases

Databases and eResources