You are expected to find and use high-quality literature. You'll need to use a range of different sources and demonstrate your ability to find good results in order to impress your tutors.
This page shows you the best resources to use, along with some guidance about how to make the most from your searches.
The main print book collection for SPSW is located in the DA section on the first floor of the JB Morrell Library. Relevant materials are found, however, in many sections of the Library - always use YorSearch to find what you need.
|DA 1||Social work||B 7.91||Psychoanalysis|
|DA 1.3||Casework/counselling||B 7.931||Psychotherapy|
|DA 1.4||Group work||B 7.932||Counselling|
|DA 1.43||Community work||B 7.938||Group therapy/Play therapy|
|DA 1.5||Disaster relief||B 7.939||Family therapy|
|DA 1.6||Public welfare & welfare state||D||Social sciences|
|DA 1.7||Voluntary groups/carers||D 0.18||Methodology|
|DA 2||Residential care||D 1||Sociology|
|DA 2.0942||National Health Service||D 1.246||Sociology of social problems|
|DA 2.1||Health care/medical sociology||D 1.247||Poverty - social aspects|
|DA 2.14||Community care||D 1.248||Alcoholism & drug problems|
|DA 2.199||Care of the dying/grief||D 1.42||Family|
|DA 2.2||Mental health services||D 1.424||Gender/sexuality|
|DA 2.3||Learning disability services||D 1.427||Children|
|DA 2.4||Services for the disabled||D 1.428||Family breakdown/bereavement|
|DA 2.5||Services for the needy||D 1.431||Youth groups|
|DA 2.59||Services for minorities||D 1.433||Women|
|DA 2.6||Services for the elderly||D 1.435||Elderly|
|DA 2.61||Residential care of the elderly||D 1.45||Minorities/racism|
|DA 2.65||Services for women||F||Statistical series|
|DA 2.7||Child/youth services||G||Economics|
|DA 2.73||Adoption||G 0.19DA||Economic aspects of social policy|
|DA 2.78||Residential child care||G 1.137||Unemployment|
|DA 2.8||Family welfare services||G 1.34||Youth employment|
|DA 4||Criminology||G 1.4||Women's employment|
|DA 4.1||Crime||G 1.833||Housing|
|DA 4.151||Assault/child abuse||G 1.86||Training|
|DA 4.152||Murder||G 5.8||Management|
|DA 4.153||Sex offences||G 9.41||Incomes|
|DA 4.36||Delinquency||G 9.42||Cost of living|
|DA 4.4||Crime prevention||G 9.46||Poverty - economic aspects|
|DA 4.5||Corrective measures||H||Politics|
|DA 4.63||Probation||HA||Public administration|
|DA 8.4||Social welfare benefits||J 344.031||Social work law|
|Y||Medicine & nursing|
Lots of our books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View Online section of each book.
Books which are essential course reading are held in the Key Texts Collection on the ground floor. You can borrow a Key Texts item for up to 4 hours during the day, or overnight from 18:00 until 10:00 the following day.
All journal titles are listed on YorSearch. Search for the title of the journal you need.
The majority of the Library's journals are available online. Click on View Online to see the full-text journal online if available. Electronic access may be offered by more than one link so check which years are available. Click on the link to get to the full-text journal.
If the journal you need is not available online, click on Find in Library to check what is available and where it is shelved.
For each module you take, you will find at least one reading list on the Yorkshare VLE. Many reading lists are made available on Yorkshare using the Library's online Reading Lists system, which links directly to the library catalogue records for items in the Library's collections, plus e-books, e-journal articles and other Web resources.
Further recommendations may be provided in module guides, or during lectures or seminars. You can search YorSearch to find the item you need, using the author's name and/or title keywords.
If you're new to a topic and want some ideas about where to start, Oxford Bibliographies Online might help. It provides introductory essays and suggested reading for either Criminology or Social Work, presented in articles on specific topics.
The Library has an extensive collection of printed, microfilm and electronic UK and international newspapers.
Nexis UK is a specialist database providing access to the full-text of thousands of news sources, including UK daily and regional newspapers.
Find videos, interactive tutorials, workbooks and links to specific help for developing your digital and information searching skills:
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an on demand TV and radio service for education. You can record and access an extensive archive from 65 free-to-air channels, create clips from programmes and compile playlists. See what you can discover today!
To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.
The resources below will help you to get started - choose the relevant section for your programme.
The resources for Social Policy are also relevant for Social Work.
The resources for Social Policy are also relevant for Criminology.
You'll find our full range of databases through the E-resources Guide.
Explore the Law Subject Guide for further legal resources.
Clicking Find It @ York in a database will check YorSearch to see if we have a copy of what you've found.
We can't afford to buy a copy of everything ever. If we don't have what you need, here are some options:
University of York PhD/MPhil theses and Masters dissertations, plus theses and dissertations from other institutions.