Subject Guides: Lifelong Learning: Railway Studies

Reading List

Each of your modules will have an online reading list in the VLE where you can access all the recommended reading from your tutors. Click the 'Reading Lists' link in the left-hand menu in the VLE to get started. Happy reading!

Library resources

Books in the National Railway Museum's library and archive centre, Search Engine, are listed in the YorSearch catalogue.

Perform a keyword search for rail* on YorSearch to find general texts on the subject. You can also refer to the following specific locations in the University Library:

Shelf location	Subject
GA 5.1	Transport Economics; Railways
GA 5.0942	Railways in Britain

Find resources for Railway Studies

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For alumni access please the Virtual Library JSTOR section on Alumni Learning.
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepolis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography this is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes: Parts I & II (1800-1900); Part III (1741-1950); Part IV (1732-1950); Part V (1746-1950); Part VI (Ireland, 1797-1950).

Also known as: 19th Century British Newspapers
A major collection of almost 6.4 million facsimile pages from more than 240 national, regional, and local newspapers published between the 1700's and 1950. The collection includes both daily and weekly publications with titles from established country or university towns, the industrial towns of the Midlands and the North, and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers associated with particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule have also been included along with penny papers aimed at a working class and clerical readership.

Accessibility information
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest UK Parliamentary Papers) This link opens in a new window
The University has access to the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (18th - 21st centuries).
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers gives access to over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to 2023, with supplementary material back to 1688. It includes page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.

Accessibility information

For more online resources explore our E-resources Guide.

Lifelong Learning

Railway Studies

Railway Studies Resources

Reading List

Reading List

Library resources

Library Resources

Find resources for Railway Studies

E-Resources