Subject Guides: Health Economics: Books and e-books

E-books

All of the e-books purchased by the Library are listed on Yorsearch. Follow the link to the e-book host website, to view the full text in your browser or as a pdf.

Further information on how to find and use the Library's e-book collections.

Major e-book collections for Economics and related disciplines

Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) This link opens in a new window
Discover over 55,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.

For help with this resource, take a look at the ProQuest Help.

Accessibility information
Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance This link opens in a new window
Published by Wiley, the e-version of this 4-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of all aspects of quantitative modelling in financial markets. Entries incorporate links to further recommended reading in University of York Library collections.

Accessibility information
Mathematics & Statistics eBook Collection (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window
The full text of all the English language titles in the Springer Mathematics & Statistics collection published between 2005 and 2010.

Accessibility information
OECD iLibrary Books This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 6,000 OECD e-book titles including monographs, series publications, conference proceedings, policy reviews, guidelines and manuals, reference books, statistical annuals and outlooks.

Books can be browsed by theme, series, title, year, country and language.

For the related statistical databases please see the entry for OECD iLibrary Statistics.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
For access off-campus select the Sign in through your institution option on the OED site.
Search on words, definitions, etymology and quotations. The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with later additions. New and revised entries are added every quarter.

Accessibility information
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries, companions, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
Oxford Scholarship Online: Economics & Finance This link opens in a new window
E-books covering all areas of economics - ranging from classic thinkers to a number of modern masters - published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will find content that you are not entitled to access.
A substantial collection of ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, cases, videos and tools for exploring all aspects of the research process from identifying and understanding particular research methods to designing research projects, conducting research and writing up findings.

Included are SAGE's "Little Green Books" (the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series) and "Little Blue Books" (the Qualitative Research Methods series).

Please note that you will also find content that you are not entitled to access.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Science Direct: Handbooks in Economics This link opens in a new window
The full text of the 57 published volumes of the Elsevier Handbooks in Economics series. Containing nearly 700 articles, including some of the most cited in economics.

Accessibility information
Science Direct: Handbook of Statistics This link opens in a new window
Access is to volumes 1 to 30 only.
The full text of all volumes in the Handbook of Statistics series published before 2010. Each volume is devoted to a particular topic in statistics.

Accessibility information

Browsing the shelves

Selected shelf locations for publications relevant to Health Economics:

DA	Social policy
DA 1.6+	Welfare state
DA 2+	Health services, e.g.
DA 2.018	Health measurement
DA 2.068	Service management
DA 2.0685	Quality control
DA 2.972	Research
DA 2.083	Statistics
DA 2.09+	Health services policy subdivided by country/region, e.g.
DA 2.094	Europe
DA 2.0942	UK
DA 2.0951	China
DA 2.0954	India
DA 2.096+	Africa
DA 2.0973	USA
DA 2.098+	South America
DA 2.1	Health care; social factors in health
DA 2.12	Pharmaceutical services
DA 2.14	Community health
DA 2.19892	Child health
DA 5.66	Prisons: health care
DA 8.38	Health insurance: voluntary
DA 8.4	National health insurance

G	Economics
G 0.1+	Economic theory; microeconomics; macroeconomics
G 0.18	Economic analysis, forecasting; econometrics
G 0.182	Mathematical modelling
G 0.19D	Social economics
G 0.19DA	Social policy, social services: economics
G 0.19DA2	Health economics
G 1	Labour economics
G 2+	Financial economics
G 3.9+	Environmental economics
G 5.7+	Accounting
G 5.73	Financial statements
G 5.74	Cost-benefit analysis
G 6.2+	Taxation
G 6.29	Tax policy
G 8+	Industrial economics
G 8.47Y519	Pharmaceutical industry
G 8.9+	Economic development, planning
G 8.91	Developing countries
G 8.92	Nationalization; priviatization
G 8.93	International economic agreements
G 8.932	Aid
G 9.46+	Poverty
GA 2	International economics; globalization

HA	Public Administration
HA 2.336	Public health administration
HA 2.391	National health service administration
HA 3.34	Local government health services

S	Mathematics
S 9+	Probability
S 9.1	Game theory
S 9.2	Simulation: causality, bargaining, uncertainty, risk
S 9.3	Stochastic processes; random sets
SF 1.G	Statistical methods for economics

Y	Medicine
Y 3+	Health
Y 3.1	Environmental health
Y 3.2	Nutrition, diet
Y 3.71	Exercise
Y 3.8	Smoking; drinking; addiction
Y 4+	Public health, subdivided by country/region
Y 4.4	Disease prevention
Y 4.5485	AIDS, HIV: public health
Y 4.7	Pollution, sanitation
Y 5.4	Pharmacy
Y 6.075	Health assessment, screening
Y 8.92	Child health