A digitised version of the newspapers, news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers from the Reverend Charles Burney Collection held at the British Library. The collection includes almost 1 million pages from around 1,270 titles and while the majority of these originate from London, there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the colonies.

Accessibility information

A database of nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Accessibility information

American Periodicals Series Online is a major database containing digitized images of the pages of American magazines, journals and newspapers originating between 1741 and 1900. APS Online has over 7 million pages of content spanning nearly 200 years of American history up to Americas entry into World War II, and includes over 1,500 titles ranging from America 's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.

Accessibility information

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries is a major collection of diaries and correspondence spanning more than 400 years and giving access to the personal experiences of nearly 500 women. It contains around 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries and over 4,000 facsimile pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. Letters and diaries of famous historic and literary figures can be found alongside the thoughts and experiences of ordinary women, including the unpublished letters and diaries of women who served during both world wars. The texts themselves are accompanied by biographies of the authors and bibliographic details of the sources.

Accessibility information

British Literary Manuscripts Online provides an insight into the lives and works of Britains major writers across two hundred years by giving access to complete facsimile copies of author manuscripts including poems, plays, and novels, private correspondence, diaries and journals, drawings and handwritten notes.

Accessibility information

British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text of almost 500 periodicals published between the 1680s and the 2000s and covers a wide range of subjects from across the arts, sciences and social sciences.

Accessibility information

With more than 36,000 items, this collection includes virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is the most ambitious single digitisation project ever undertaken which offers wide access not only to a century of the nation's intellectual heritage, but also works from earlier periods which were valued and printed or reprinted during the eighteenth century.

A library of over 180,000 eighteenth-century printed books, with more than 33 million scanned facsimile pages. Each title has a full citation record from the English Short Title Catalogue and is fully searchable - including full-text and illustrations multi-disciplinary. A research resource for all disciplines.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

Documents from the John Larpent Collection, an archive of almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824. Larpent was the English Inspector of Plays from 1778-1824 and preserved plays submitted for licence under the 1737 Licensing Act.

The collection includes over 2,500 plays, epilogues, prologues, addresses and songs submitted for licence along with the diaries of Larpents wife and professional collaborator Anna, recording her criticisms of plays, and hundreds of further documents including playbills, theatre records and correspondence between key theatrical figures.

Accessibility information

Rare printed journals, periodicals and newspapers of the long eighteenth century not covered in EEBO, ECCO or Early English Newspapers. The Portal features many short run items and very rare materials. The five separate collections included in the Portal are:

• Module 1: Newspapers and Periodicals, 1693-1793, from the Bodleian Library, Oxford.
  
• Module 2: Newspapers and Periodicals, 1699-1812, from the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin.
  
• Module 3: Newspapers and Periodicals, 1680-1816, from British Library Newspapers, Colindale and Cambridge University Library.
  
• Module 4: Newspapers and Periodicals, 1708-1820, from Chetham's Library, Manchester and the Brotherton Library, University of Leeds.
  
• Module 5: The Ladys Magazine and other titles, 1712-1835, from Birmingham Central Library, British Library, Cambridge University Library and Liverpool John Moores University Library.

Accessibility information

Over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed material 1492-1962 from libraries and archives around the world.

Accessibility information

More than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand.

Accessibility information

This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works gives an insight into the English abroad c1550 to 1850. The primary material includes letters, diaries and journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, maps, paintings, sketches, and architectural drawings. Secondary sources include introductory essays; a searchable, full-text version of John Ingamells Dictionary of British and Irish Travellers in Italy, 1701-1800; a selection of digitised source material from the Brinsley Ford Archive at the Paul Mellon Centre, London, and an indexed collection of hundreds of modern photographs of Italy, providing a detailed visual source of all the historical sites, palaces and streets visited by tourists.

Accessibility information

A collection of facsimile images of over 190 manuscripts from the major deposit of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.

The manuscripts include contemporary copies of poems by writers like Colvil, Dryden, Fairfax, Marvell, Pope, Rochester, Swift, and others, anonymous items, songs, riddles, popular tags and epitaphs. Many of the manuscripts have never previously been indexed and made available and much of the poetry is unpublished or appears with significant differences in manuscript.

Nearly all of the 6,600 poems within the collection have been fully indexed by first line, last line, attribution, author, title, date, length, verse form, content, bibliographic references, manuscript and record number.

Accessibility information

A full text collection of the correspondence, diaries, memoirs and notebooks from many of the most distinguished writers, statesmen, scientists, churchmen, explorers and philosophers in British history.

Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography this is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

A bibliographic database of European printed records relating to the Americas, created from "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750".

Accessibility information

This resource is a searchable, online library of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, prose and drama. It also provides access to a growing collection of online journals, reference works, author biographies and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

Titles from Oxford University Press covering a wide range of topics, themes and periods in literature.

Accessibility information

Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information