Subject Guides: Criminology: Welcome

Your Liaison Librarian

Tony Wilson

General enquiries:
lib-sociology@york.ac.uk

Book an online appointment:
Meet with me to discuss how I can help you make the most of the Library and our resources. I can meet you either face-to-face or over video call. Please email me if you have any questions about this.

Some quick links to other useful sites

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Criminology

Welcome to this Subject Guide, which brings together key resources and information for students and staff.

If you're brand new to York (or even if you aren't...) you may find our New Students Quickstart Guide useful. It will give you a To Do list to get you started; if you have any questions, let us know. In the meantime, go on a Virtual Tour of the Library.

Library news

Key databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCOhost New UI)

You can still access Criminal Justice Abstracts on the Classic interface until 31st December 2025. See MyEBSCO data for how to access data on the New UI saved in MyEBSCO on the Classic interface. There is also important information about Custom Folders, which have not been migrated to the New UI.

Criminal Justice Abstracts aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and access to some reports from government and non-governmental agencies. For each document, a summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing. The database coverage extends from 1968 onwards, and is updated weekly.

Accessibility information
Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Scopus
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.

An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information

Explore the full range of databases for Criminology in the Find resources page.

Learning online

It can be tricky to get up to speed with studying online, when all your learning is taking place over the internet. We've put together a guide with information on working off campus, communicating online, being digitally organised and a lot more. It's really well worth a look:

>> Guide to studying online

Criminology

Welcome