Subject Guides: Health Economics: Journal articles

Finding journals

To discover which journals the Library subscribes to:

Search the YorSearch Library Catalogue for the title or subject of the journal (to locate both e-journals and print archives).

Or go directly to the A-Z list of subscribed e-journals.

Click View It for a secure link to the external host website. E-access may be offered by more than one host, so check which years are available from each service.

Google Scholar

Search for academic materials like journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

When you use a campus-networked PC, Google Scholar will automatically link to the University of York library systems and display articles where we have full-text access. When off campus, you will need to go to the Google Scholar settings page, access the Library links section, search for 'York', select 'University of York UK' from the list, and then click on Save to see these links.

Bibliographic databases

AMED (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
AMED indexes a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.

Updated monthly.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library presents the work of the not-for profit Cochrane Collaboration and others interested in assembling best evidence on the effects of health care. It is made up of a number of databases including:

- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
- The Cochrane Methodology Register
- Health Technology Assessment Database
- NHS Economic Evaluations Database
- About The Cochrane Collaboration

Updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.

Accessibility information
EconLit (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
EconLit provides electronic access to the Periodicals Index from Journal of Economic Literature and its predecessors. The database consists of bibliographic records for the world’s economic literature, compiled by the American Economic Association. Over 400 major journals are indexed, as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, conference proceedings etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Abstracts have been added to some records from 1987.

Note that EconLit does not include the review articles published within Journal of Economic Literature. For electronic access to these articles, follow the link from the University of York Library catalogue to the e-journal.
EMBASE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Also known as the Excerpta Medical Database. EMBASE covers biomedical and pharmaceutical information, indexing over 3,500 pharmaceutical and biomedical related journals. Topics covered include:

- Drug research
- Pharmacology
- Pharmaceutics
- Toxicology
- Clinical and experimental human medicine
- Health policy and management
- Public health
- Occupational health
- Environmental health
- Drug dependence and abuse
- Psychiatry
- Forensic medicine
- Biomedical engineering/instrumentation

Updated daily.
Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
A compilation of data from two sources, the Department of Health's Library and Information Services and King’s Fund Information and Library Service. Coverage includes official publications, journal articles and grey literature on: health service policy, management and administration, mostly with a UK focus.
HMIC is a bibliographic database containing information from DH Data (produced by the Department of Health) and the King’s Fund Information and Library Service database.

Coverage includes official publications, journal articles and grey literature in the areas of health service policy, management and administration (with an emphasis on the NHS), primary care, public health, and social care.

Updated bi-monthly.
MEDLINE (1946 onwards) (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary abstracting and indexing service for the medical and biomedical sciences indexing over 4,600 journals. Provides information on:

- Medicine
- Nursing
- Dentistry
- Veterinary medicine
- Allied health
- Pre-clinical sciences

As well as the following topics as they relate to biomedicine and healthcare:

- Biology
- Environmental science
- Marine biology
- Plant and animal science
- Biophysics
- Chemistry

Medline is the electronic version of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.

Daily and weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide or try our interactive tutorial.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information
NHS Economic Evaluation Database This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York, NHS EED (NHS Economic Evaluation Database) focuses primarily on the economic evaluation of health care interventions and aims to help decision makers interpret an increasingly complex and technical literature.

Each abstract starts with a non technical summary of the topic, conclusions and reliability of the study. A brief description of the effectiveness information
on which the economic evidence is based and details of the key components of the economic evaluation, are also included. A critical commentary summarises the overall reliability and generalisability of the study, and presents any
practical implications for the NHS.

NIHR funding to produce NHS EED ceased at the end of March 2015. Bibliographic records were published on NHS EED until 31st March 2015.

Accessibility information
NHS Evidence Health Information Resources This link opens in a new window
The main entry point to electronic resources for the NHS. Includes specialist collections and other freely available information.

Accessibility information
PsycINFO (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's bibliographic database. PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,900 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Over 80,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
TRIP This link opens in a new window
Designed to search for high quality medical resources on the Internet to support evidence-based practice.

Updated monthly.
UK Clinical Trials Gateway This link opens in a new window
Formerly UK Clinical Research Network Portfolio Database
A database of clinical trials drawn from ClinicalTrials.gov and the ISRCTN registry.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information