Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Theatre, Film and Television

Find resources

Finding what you need

As a TFTV student you need access to all sorts of resources - databases containing good quality academic articles which Google can't find, video, audio, newspapers and more. Below you'll find links to a selection of what we have that we think is most relevant to the Department, although you can also check out Get even more resources box to find links to every single database and journal collection the library subscribes to. When you follow the links from these pages (rather than doing direct to the databases in your browser or finding them via Google) you get the full access which we've paid for on your behalf.

For more info about any of these resources, click the 'i' icon next to each.

This page also contains some useful info on how to find and use resources, down the right hand side.

Box of Broadcasts is here!

Essential text-based online resources for TFTV

Video-based online resources

Some video-based resources - by which I mean they contain films and multimedia; they're not JUST about film and video itself.  For more info about any of these resources, click the 'i' icon next to each.

Audio-based online resources

Online access to audio; for more info about any of these resources, click the 'i' icon next to each.

Get even more e-resources

Google Scholar

Search for academic material such as journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

When you use a campus-networked PC, Google Scholar will automatically link to the University of York library catalogue and display articles where we have full-text access. When off campus, you will need to select University of York Library in the Settings option (under Library Links).

Other relevant websites for TFTV

Here are some useful websites which aren't academic resources as such but may still be useful for your studies.  For more info about any of these resources, click the 'i' icon next to each.

Other useful text-based resources

The following are related resources which you may find useful when researching around your topic. Nexis is particularly useful for finding context around a topic, containing thousands of newspapers, sorted and digitised.  For more info about any of these resources, click the 'i' icon next to each.

Using YorSearch

YorSearch is the place to look for books, journals, and other materials held by the Library.

Getting to grips with YorSearch  (click to reveal)

A guide to the resources on this page

Here's a brief guide to the most pertinent resources for TFTV, organised by need. Click the box in the bottom-right corner to expand it to full-screen.


 

Digital Skills Guides

Find videos, interactive tutorials, workbooks and links to specific help for developing your digital and information searching skills:

Key Texts

Some tutor-recommended resources which are in high demand are moved to our Key Texts Collections. The loan periods are shorter than flexible loans, and items can be booked in advance for a specific time.

Looking beyond your reading list...