Subject Guides: Language and Linguistic Science: Welcome

Your Liaison Librarian

Dave Curtis, Kirsty Whitehead, Olivia Else & Tony Wilson

General enquiries:
lib-linguistics@york.ac.uk

Book an appointment: Meet with us to discuss how we can help you to make the most of the Library and its resources. All appointments last 30 minutes and will take place online. If you would prefer to meet face to face please email us at the address given above.

Support for researchers:
Contact our specialist Open Research team.

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Language and Linguistic Science

Welcome to this Subject Guide, which brings together key resources and information for students and staff.

If you're brand new to York (or even if you aren't...) you may find our New Students Quickstart Guide useful. It will give you a To Do list to get you started; if you have any questions, let us know. In the meantime, go on a Virtual Tour of the Library.

An introduction to Gale Primary Sources and Gale Digital Scholar Lab

Watch this video to learn more about Gale Digital Scholar Lab and the wide variety of text data mining applications available within it. As well as integrating with the Gale Primary Sources collections that the Library owns, the Lab can be used to analyse your own text based datasets, so is of value to all research disciplines.

You can access all of the resources listed within the video via our E-Resources Guide

Please note - the new Gale Primary Sources titles described within the video are expected to be available from February 2023.

Referencing guide for Language and Linguistic Science

The Language and Linguistic Science department uses the APA referencing style.

Click here to see the APA referencing style guide.

Key databases

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. The database is updated monthly.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
European Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
European Newsstream gives access to the full text of over 550 news sources from across Europe including newspapers, newswires, websites, blogs, magazines, trade and scholarly journals, and reports. It includes UK national daily and regional newspapers alongside major European titles such as Le Monde.

The database is updated daily and the back issues archive varies by title.

Accessibility information
LION - Literature Online This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable, online library of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, prose and drama. It also provides access to a growing collection of online journals, reference works, author biographies and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Cairn.info This link opens in a new window
The University subscribes to the following collections:
- Revues (French language interface)
- International Edition (English language interface)
Provides access to over 400 French language journals covering a wide range of subjects. English translations of articles from a selection of these journals are also available via Cairn.info International Edition (English language interface).
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This bibliography contains citations for journal articles, books, book chapters and theses in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. It is the major literature bibliography.

The publication years covered by this resource are from the 1920s onwards.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information