Nexis UK is a major source of global news. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK and worldwide daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.
Nexis Advance UK is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.
Nexis Advance UK also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.
The first time you use FT.com you will need to register via the link above using your University of York email address.
After you have registered you can login direct at FT.com: Select Sign In > Enter your University of York email address > Click the SSO Sign in button > Login using your IT username and password
You can login to FT.com from both on and off-campus including via your mobile device (see FT Apps & Mobile for details of the available apps).
FT.com gives online access to all the stories and features from the daily newspaper along with an FT ePaper which is a digital replica of different editions of the printed newspaper with an archive back to 2005.
In addition to online access 2000-, the Library subscribes to the printed edition: the current issue can be found in the Morrell Lounge on the ground floor, and 1991- in G Periodicals, Compact Store 1.
A digitised version of the newspapers, news-books, pamphlets, ephemera, and other early forms of newspapers from the Reverend Charles Burney Collection held at the British Library. The collection includes almost 1 million pages from around 1,270 titles and while the majority of these originate from London, there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the colonies.
This collection gives access to the full text of material from the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Library in Oxford. The collection covers the years 1672 to 1737 and includes more than 300 newspaper and periodical titles along with over 250 pamphlets and broadsheets.
The material covers a broad range of important events and topics in both British and international early modern history, including the Glorious Revolution of 1688, the Jacobite rebellion, the deaths of notable monarchs and the Treaty of Utrecht.
Includes: 19th Century British Library Newspapers (parts 1 & 2); British Newspapers 1780-1950 (part 3).
A major collection of over 3.2 million facsimile pages from 99 national, regional, and local newspapers published between the 1700's and 1950. The collection includes both daily and weekly publications with titles from established country or university towns, the industrial towns of the Midlands and the North, and from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Newspapers associated with particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule have also been included along with penny papers aimed at a working class and clerical readership.
For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Including New York Times 1851-2009; Washington Post 1877-1996 and others.
A collection of full text archives of American newspapers with page and article facsimile images. The University has access to: Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; New York Times; New York Tribune; Washington Post.
This fully-searchable facsimile edition of the FT offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper from its first issue onwards. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included and shown individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
A full text archive of page and article facsimile images of The Irish Times (1859 onwards, excluding the most recent 2 years) and The Weekly Irish Times (1876 - 1958). Coverage includes The Times Pictorial.