An independent web service aggregating press releases, radio, TV, newspapers, websites, blogs and Twitter, updated continually. Also reports and analysis from the editorial team led by Paul Waugh, formerly deputy political editor of the London Evening Standard newspaper.
Formerly the Office of Public Sector Information and Her Majesty's Stationery Office. Full text of Public General Acts 1988-, Local Acts 1991-, Statutory Instruments 1987-, and Church of England Measures 1988-.
"The local democracy think tank": an independent research and lobbying organisation dedicated to promoting local democracy. Brings together information on events, networks and publications produced by the Unit and its partners.
The body which proposes new legislation to the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union, and ensures that EU law is correctly applied by member countries. Summaries of policies and legislation for the layperson.
With members from 47 countries, the oldest international
organisation dedicated to fostering co-operation in Europe, through the protection and promotion of human rights, democracy and the rule of law. Includes the European Court of Human Rights.
UK archival material
The Library's print and microform collection of UK government publications is located in the Raymond Burton Library reading room.
The premium subscription content includes all the volumes of the Calendars of State Papers, Domestic and the Calendars of State Papers for Scotland and Ireland. British History Online also gives free access to digitised versions of a range of other primary and secondary sources for the medieval and early modern history of Britain.
The rolls of parliament were the official records of the meetings of the English parliament from the reign of Edward I (1272 – 1307) until the reign of Henry VII (1485 – 1509), after which they were superseded by the journals of the lords and, somewhat later, of the commons. The rolls, which amount in total to over four million words, were first edited in the eighteenth century and published in 1783 in six folio volumes entitled Rotuli Parliamentorum ( RP) under the general editorship of the Reverend John Strachey. This new edition reproduces the rolls edited in RP in their entirety, plus those subsequently published by Cole, Maitland, and Richardson and Sayles as well as a substantial amount of material never previously published, together with a full translation of all the texts from the three languages used by the medieval clerks (Latin, Anglo-Norman and Middle English).
Until 30th September 2020 there is also temporary free trial access to State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782 and The Stuart and Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle.
This major archive gives access to the complete collection of State Papers Domestic and Foreign for the Tudor era (1509-1603), and the Stuart era (1603-1714). The resource reproduces the original historical manuscripts in facsimile and links each manuscript to its corresponding fully-searchable Calendar entry.
This portal provides access to 1,400 volumes of core 18th century official Parliamentary publications which include Sessional Papers, Journals and Proceedings of both Houses of Parliament, Parliamentary Registers, Private Bills, Private Acts and Local and Personal Acts.
HCPP gives access to over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP includes page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
Digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament.
The full text of Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. This is a prototype digitisation project still under development and the information has been provided by the Hansard Digitisation Project, led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords.
Official records of both Houses of Parliament, including Acts, Journals, Deposited Plans and Appeal Cases. Collections of private political papers and records of political bodies and pressure groups. Very little of this material is digitized; visits by appointment.
From the National Archives: minutes, memoranda, conclusions of cabinet meetings, Cabinet Office precedent books, and some Cabinet Secretaries' notebooks. Supported by background material and resources.
Gives full text access to Cabinet papers, including minutes, memoranda, conclusions of cabinet meetings, Cabinet Office precedent books, and some Cabinet Secretary's notebooks. This primary source material is accompanied by a range of supporting and background material and resources.