Subject Guides: Lifelong Learning: Creative Writing

Welcome!

You'll find information and resources on this page to support you with your studies in Creative Writing.

Yorsearch, the Library search tool

All of the Library's books, journals, DVDs and other materials are listed on YorSearch.

Shelf locations

Perform a keyword search for "Creative writing" on YorSearch to find general texts on the subject. You can also refer to the following specific locations:

Shelfmark	Floor	Subject
M	2	Literature
M 38	2	Literary Composition
M 38.25	2	Script Writing; Drama

There is also a more in-depth breakdown of shelfmarks on the English & Related Literature Subject Guide.

Accessing your reading lists

Each of your modules will have an online reading list in the VLE where you can access all the recommended reading from your tutors. Click the 'Reading Lists' link in the left-hand menu in the VLE to get started. Happy reading!

Useful resources for Creative Writing

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides an insight into theatre from production to performance through access to streaming video. The material in Digital Theatre Plus includes:

- Productions (high-definition films of leading British theatre productions).
- Behind-the-scenes documentaries and interviews with professional theatre makers.
- Study guides written by practitioners and academics.
- Teaching support demonstrating practical techniques.
- Curated collections of filmed performance from around the world.

Accessibility information
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
You will need to register for an account the first time that you access Box of Broadcasts.

Please note that you may only access and use Box of Broadcasts in the United Kingdom..
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is an on demand TV and radio service for education. Users can record programmes from over 65 free-to-air channels and access an extensive archive of programmes already available. Users can also create clips from programmes and compile playlists.

Please note that you may only access and use BoB in the United Kingdom.

For help with this resource, take a look at the BoB FAQs.

Accessibility information

English Literature resources
A comprehensive collection of additional literature resources from the English & Related Literature Subject Guide

Google Scholar

Search for academic materials like journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

When you use a campus-networked PC, Google Scholar will automatically link to the University of York library catalogue and display articles where we have full-text access. When off campus, you will need to select University of York - Full Text @ York in the Settings option (under Library Links).

Watch our Google Scholar video for more information.