Library Subject Guides
The School of Business and Society provide a number of financial databases for all students to access.
The databases you can access are listed below, with a brief description, a link to access and more information about the database itself including an introductory video plus details of any specific access or licence instructions.
Please contact econ-it@york.ac.uk for any questions or access problems. The Library does not provide support for these databases.
BankFocus gives access to information on over 45,000 of the world’s public and private banks and can be used to identify, analyze and monitor banks and other financial institutions.
BankFocus training - Training was on 25th and 27th January 2023 which provided an overview of BankFocus including an advanced demonstration and Q&A. A recording of each session is now available on the Database Training Library 22/23 VLE site.
See the 'Tour of BankFocus' video below for guidance on how to use Bank Focus. (Please note, we have access to BankFocus until March 2024).
BankFocus provides help on their website in the far right top corner. You can access this help by clicking on this symbol.
Help content includes:
You can also navigate the help content via a Training Program which includes videos and records your progress.
The CSMAR database offers data on the China stock markets and the financial statements of China’s listed companies.
CSMAR is available in WRDS.
See WRDS for support and training details. WRDS do not provide in-person or online live training however if you have a question in relation to your research or about a dataset you are using, you can contact their support team who will respond as soon as possible.
The CRSP database from the University of Chicago provides the most complete available data on US stock returns going back to 1926, plus indices and treasury bonds. CRSP is linked to the Compustat database from Standard and Poor's. This is a worldwide equities and fixed income database with 99,000 global securities covering 99% of the world's market capitalisation, with company annual and quarterly data going back to 1950.
CRSP/ Compustat is available in WRDS. See the CRSP page for details of data available and support videos.
See WRDS for support and training details. WRDS do not provide in-person or online live training however if you have a question in relation to your research or about a dataset you are using, you can contact their support team who will respond as soon as possible.
This database tracks executive compensation in S&P 1000 firms from 1992 to present. It contains more than 100 up-to-date salary, bonus, and stock option data items for top level executives along with company identification data that can be used to match the compensation data to company financial data found in the Compustat - North America database.
ExecuComp (Compustat ExecuComp) is available in WRDS.
See WRDS for support and training details. WRDS do not provide in-person or online live training however if you have a question in relation to your research or about a dataset you are using, you can contact their support team who will respond as soon as possible.
Refinitiv Workspace gives access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.
Refinitiv Workspace Training - Training session was on 15th and 17th February 2023 which provided an introduction of Refinitiv Workspace and the second session discussed advanced screening techniques and how to use the Excel plugin. A recording of each session is now available on the Database Training Library 22/23 VLE site.
Refinitv offer free 30-45 minute online classes that will help you learn how to navigate Refinitv Workspace to find key information quickly and easily. There are usually several classes per month and you can sign up to attend one on their website.
In addition to the online classes, on demand training of Refinitiv Workspace is also available as a free service for University of York students. Enter your name and university email to access the training videos below:
Video tutorials and scheduled classes you can enrol on
WRDS is a comprehensive data management system which gives access to information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources.
WRDS Training - Training was on the 1st and 3rd February 2023 which provided an introduction to WRDS including an overview of our subscriptions, using the web interface, searching for data, web query, data downloads. A recording of each session is now available on the Database Training Library 22/23 VLE site.
On the WRDS website, select ‘Classroom’ from the menu to show all the different on demand help and support available (please note you can ONLY access this help material if you have created an account and have registered with WRDS). Below is some of the training available:
You can also access the Classroom area of WRDS for further training on Accounting, Investments, Syllabi and other topics. WRDS do not provide in-person or online live training however if you have a question in relation to your research or about a dataset you are using, you can contact their support team who will respond as soon as possible.
Forthcoming Organise & analyse sessions:
There's more training events at:
