Information from the University of York Department of Economics: Datastream provides key data sets from both developed and emerging markets - equities, market indices, company accounts, macroeconomics, bonds, foreign exchange, interest rates, commodities and derivatives. Only members of DERS and TYMS may access this service.
See Countries tab for country reports from D&B, IHS, PRS Group and others. Data can be extracted in tab-delimited text format.
Nexis UK is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.
Nexis UK also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.
The Financial Times is not included in any preselected groups of sources within Nexis UK, e.g. UK Newspapers etc. The Financial Times can be searched on its own or combined with other sources. To search the Financial Times on its own go to the Sources tab and use the Find Sources options. The Sources tab will also allow you to combine the Financial Times with other selected sources e.g. UK Broadsheets. Search the Nexis help on "combine sources" for further information.
More than 6,000 collections of high quality social and economic data, from international organizations including the European Commission, International Labour Organization, International Monetary Fund and World Bank.
Also includes: UK census data (1971-2011) UK survey data Cross-national survey data International macro databanks Cohort and longitudinal studies Business microdata Qualitative and mixed methods data
Consolidates and integrates four services established and funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC): the Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS), the Secure Data Service, the Survey Question Bank and elements of the ESRC Census Programme.
The UK Data Service provides a unified point of access to more than 6,000 collections of high quality social and economic data, including UK Census data, government-funded surveys, longitudinal studies, international macrodata, qualitative data and business microdata.
For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
GenderStats is an electronic database of gender statistics and indicators. It offers statistical and other data in modules on several subjects. It is updated continuously and coverage includes themes that range from health and education to political participation and poverty.
Labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories, dating back to 1952 in some cases.
Labour market statistics for over 100 indicators and 230 countries, areas and territories, dating back to 1952 in some cases. Updated annually. Customised data tables can be created online and downloaded in .csv format.
Demographic and economic data tables by country, in pdf and Excel format.
Includes 260 years of statistical data covering a wide range of key economic and social indicators. Data is available on the Americas and Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania. Data tables can be downloaded as PDFs and/or Excel files.
The website of the UK Office for National Statistics. Site includes full texts of the latest press releases (plus a searchable archive); and a substantial collection of free-to-access online statistical publications.
The website of the UK Office for National Statistics. Site includes full texts of the latest press releases (plus a searchable archive); and a substantial collection of free-to-access online statistical publications, such as "The Official Yearbook of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland", "Social Trends", "United Kingdom Economic Accounts", and others (usually most recent edition only). Also Census 2001, and the newly developed Neighbourhood Statistics service, providing access to "a vast range of social and economic aggregate data on a consistent small-area geography" (searchable by postcode).
Coverage includes national accounts, economic indicators, financial affairs, social expenditure, and further series relating to industry, agriculture, energy, employment, health, migration, development and aid, for all 34 OECD member countries and other major economies. Login with your University of York username and password.
26 statistical databases from the OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). Coverage includes national accounts, economic indicators, financial affairs, social expenditure, and further series relating to industry, agriculture, energy, employment, health, migration, development and aid, for all 30 OECD member countries and other major economies.
Each data series has a searchable abstract indicating origin, start date, periodicity, content etc. Data tables can be constructed according to your own specifications for viewing online, then exported into a spreadsheet package for further processing.
For information about OECD Health Data, please see the separate entry.
Based in the USA, a private, nonprofit organization which informs people around the world about population, health and the environment for research or academic purposes. Data is free to access.
This database contains data on 136 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. (Not all countries have data on all variables).
A single point of access to a number of free statistical databases from the United Nations.
UNdata is maintained by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). It provides a single point of access to a number of leading United Nations statistical databases offering a great starting point for tracing all forms of statistics and statistical indicators. It is replacing the United Nations Common Database.
Sources of data include WHO health data, refugee data from UNHCR, UNESCO data, and World Telecommunications Union statistics among many others. Topics covered encompass the full range of United Nations statistics from population trends, health, international trade and commodity data, human development, demographic and population trends.
Other key features of the site include useful country profiles and glossaries of key terms.