Subject Guides: Economics: Company and market reports

Business Source Premier: Company Profiles

Use the Business Source Premier database to find detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. To search for company information, select Company Profiles in the database.

Business Source Premier also includes full text market research and industry reports.

To access Business Source Premier click on the link below. To help you search it effectively, refer to the user guide provided.

Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
User guide
Exercises - to identify journal articles on a subject & company information
The full text of articles from almost 8,200 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This includes the Harvard Business Review back to the first issue in 1922, and most other journals included back to 1965. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

Nexis UK: Company Profiles

Nexis This link opens in a new window
User guide
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information

Access key information for over 100 million companies worldwide using Nexis UK.

Nexis company information is gathered from a variety of international sources, including:

Dun & Bradstreet
Hoover's Company Profiles
Mergent
ICC Directory of UK Companies
ICC Financial Analysis Reports.

To search for company information, select Company Profiles in the database.

To access Nexis UK click on the link below. To help you search it effectively, refer to the user guide provided.

Oxford Business Group Market Reports

Oxford Business Group Market Reports
Currently offering 3 years' free access to University of York members - register for a personal account with your University email address.
Covering 34 emerging markets and 20 business sectors, the reports are primary research, written by a team of analysts who spend at least 6 months in each country to offer an accurate analysis of political, macroeconomic and sectoral developments.

Company information on the Web

The company's own corporate website is a good starting point for finding company information. The corporate website, developed for people who are interested in the business, usually contain annual reports and other financial information.

For example, a host of information is available on the British Airways website; the site includes a student information section for students carrying out research on the company.

Websites:

Yahoo! Finance UK & Ireland and sites for other countries USA, China etc.
Companies House WebCHeck look up information on more than 2 million companies.
London Stock Exchange and the LSE free annual reports service
Morningstar
NorthCote
Precision IR
Carol