Subject Guides: Computer Science: Find resources

Books

Computer Science books are located in the SK section on the third floor of the JB Morrell Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Past exam papers and theses

You can access past exam papers which have been selected by Computer Science in our Digital Collections, which you can find linked to in the top pane in YorSearch.

Useful websites

Societies and other organisations

Online reference sources

Find research papers

icon

When literature searching you will need to include research papers, which you can find via online databases. This allows you to search from multiple journals at the same time.

For tips on how to run an efficient and effective search, visit our search skills webpages.

Key Computer Science resources

IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEEE Xplore) This link opens in a new window

IEEE Xplore provides access to almost 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. These documents include journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.

Accessibility information
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (SpringerLink) This link opens in a new window

A searchable bibliographic database covering the literature from 1973 onwards with access to the full text of LNCS volumes from volume 1 (1973) onwards.

Accessibility information
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window

The ACM Digital Library is one of the most comprehensive collections of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. The Digital Library gives access to the ACM's journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters and multimedia titles plus full-text publications from a selection of other publishers.

Please note that ACM Books and ebooks are not included in the University's subscription.
Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window

Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.

An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will find content that you are not entitled to access.

A substantial collection of ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, cases, videos and tools for exploring all aspects of the research process from identifying and understanding particular research methods to designing research projects, conducting research and writing up findings.

Included are SAGE's "Little Green Books" (the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series) and "Little Blue Books" (the Qualitative Research Methods series).

Please note that you will also find content that you are not entitled to access.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

Additional resources

Conference Proceedings Citation Index: Science (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window

Conference literature in all scientific and technical fields, including: Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Engineering, Computer Science, Chemistry and Physics back to 1990.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Index to Theses (UK) This link opens in a new window
- see entry for ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland.

British Standards Online

Access to the full British Standards is available through British Standards Online (BSOL). Please note that we do not have access to the unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards that can also be found on BSOL.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The FileOpen plugin is required to open downloaded PDFs in your PDF reader. FileOpen is available on University PCs. For other devices and for further information and advice see the British Standards Institution site. Please note that you must open downloaded PDFs in a PDF reader not in your browser.

Only British and British adopted standards are included in the University's subscription. You will not have access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.

British Standards Online gives access to publications from the British Standards Institute. It includes the full text of over 70,000 current, historic and draft British and British adopted standards including Tracked Changes versions where available, along with; technical handbooks; codes of practice; guidelines; and specifications for products, dimensions, performance, and glossaries. The database is updated daily.

The University's subscription does not include access to unadopted ASTM, ISO and IEC standards.

Accessibility information

Using operators

Most databases allow you to enter elaborate controlled searches using special words and characters ("operators")...

Search tips
A look at some advanced search methods

Plurals and variations in spelling:
Truncation and wildcards (tutorial)

Information for researchers:
Create a search strategy

Problems finding resources?

Tips on what to try if we don't have access via the Library:

Try Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes links to freely available PDFs and alternate versions of articles.
Search institutional repositories
If the article you need was written by someone at a university, they might have placed a copy in their institutional repository. Look at their website for more details.
Apply for it using our free Interlending Service
We can source articles and books from elsewhere.
Visit other libraries
You can access items at other libraries. Apply to the Library for a SCONUL Access card so that you can access other UK university libraries or visit the British Library at Boston Spa. Book a place on our free weekly minibus.
Contact your Academic Liaison Librarian
Stuck? Email lib-compsci@york.ac.uk for advice.

Computer Science

Find resources

Choosing the right resources