Subject Guides: School of Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE): Journals and articles

Finding journals

To discover which journals the Library subscribes to:

Search the YorSearch Library Catalogue for the title or subject of the journal (to locate both e-journals and print archives).

Or go directly to the A-Z list of subscribed e-journals.

Click View It for a secure link to the external host website. E-access may be offered by more than one host, so check which years are available from each service.

Freely-available articles

Vox: the Student Journal of Politics, Economics and Philosophy
Published in affiliation with the School of PEP and the Club of PEP at the University of York, to provide a platform for the free exchange of ideas between students and academics across the world.
e-International Relations
"The world's leading website for students of international politics", comprising free articles commissioned from experts in the field, plus student essays, interviews and blogs, curated by a volunteer editorial team of scholars from around the globe.
Stability: International Journal of Security and Development
Open-access and peer-reviewed, cultivating research and analysis by policy-makers, practitioners and academics working in the field of post-conflict development and complex emergencies. Started by University of York PRDU Associate and former Research Fellow, Steven Zyck, with an Editorial Board of internationally recognised development experts.

Google Scholar

Search for academic materials including journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

When you are connected to the campus network, Google Scholar automatically interrogates University of York library systems and provides links to full-text articles from subscribed e-journals. When working on another network, you will need to edit your Scholar settings: in the 'Library links' area, add 'University of York (UK)'.

Bibliographic databases

ASSIA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
ASSIA (Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts) indexes around 650 English language social science journals. Subject coverage includes social services, health, employment, ethnic studies, education, criminology, and related areas.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information

A bibliographic database is a searchable source of comprehensive information about publications: journal articles, conference proceedings, working papers and books.

Some bibliographic databases incorporate the full text of the publications indexed. Others interface with the Library's directory of subscriptions, to provide easy access to the full text on the host website wherever possible.

Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepolis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography this is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The full text of articles from almost 8,200 journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This includes the Harvard Business Review back to the first issue in 1922, and most other journals included back to 1965. The database also includes other sources of full text information such as country economic reports from the EIU, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
EconLit (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
EconLit provides electronic access to the Periodicals Index from Journal of Economic Literature and its predecessors. The database consists of bibliographic records for the world’s economic literature, compiled by the American Economic Association. Over 400 major journals are indexed, as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, conference proceedings etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. Abstracts have been added to some records from 1987.

Note that EconLit does not include the review articles published within Journal of Economic Literature. For electronic access to these articles, follow the link from the University of York Library catalogue to the e-journal.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline hosts a large collection of, primarily US focused, full-text law and law-related material including over 1,200 journals. The Library has access to the following collections:

- Law Journal Library
- American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
- Association of American Law Schools (AALS)
- Code of Federal Regulations
- English Reports (1220-1865)
- European Centre for Minority Issues
- Federal Register Library
- Foreign & International Law Resources Database
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
- Legal Classics
- Manual of Patent Examining Procedure
- Philip C. Jessup Library
- Treaties and Agreements Library (U.S.)
- U.S. Attorney General Opinions
- U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
- U.S. Presidential Library
- U.S. Statutes at Large
- U.S. Supreme Court Library

For help with this resource, take a look at the Hein User Guide.

Accessibility information
International Political Science Abstracts (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Published by the International Political Science Association with abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals and yearbooks all over the world.

Online coverage is from 2007 onwards. Print editions of the abstracts from 1951-2006 are available in the Library's Journals collection. Please check YorSearch for further details.

Accessibility information

Journal Citation Reports

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy published in journals and books (including contributions to anthologies and book reviews) from 1940 onwards. The Philosopher's Index includes citations and abstracts from over 620 journals published in 43 countries.

Accessibility information
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. It monitors almost 300 philosophy journals, as well as online archives and personal websites, and takes submissions from users.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information