Subject Guides: School of Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE): Books and e-books

YorSearch

Try YorSearch now:

Or access the database you need direct from our E-resources Guide and journals from this A-Z list of titles.

E-book collections for PPE and related disciplines

Cambridge Companions Online: Philosophy, Religion and Culture This link opens in a new window
Specially-commissioned collections of essays addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.

Accessibility information
HeinOnline Legal Classics Library This link opens in a new window
Gives access to the full text of over 1,300 classic works of legal scholarship and includes rare items that are found in only a handful of libraries around the world. See the HeinOnline entry for details of the other HeinOnline collections available.

For help with this resource, take a look at the Hein User Guide.

Accessibility information
OECD iLibrary Books This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 6,000 OECD e-book titles including monographs, series publications, conference proceedings, policy reviews, guidelines and manuals, reference books, statistical annuals and outlooks.

Books can be browsed by theme, series, title, year, country and language.

For the related statistical databases please see the entry for OECD iLibrary Statistics.

Online Library of Liberty

Classic texts about individual liberty, covering 4,000 years from the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace. They are in a variety of formats - facsimile PDFs so scholars can view the original text, HTML for ease of searching and attractive layout, and text-based PDF e-books for personal use.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Economics & Finance This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of complete titles and chapters from titles not yet available in print. You will have access to content published online up to and including the year 2022, plus selected individual titles.

Accessibility information
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of complete titles and chapters from titles not yet available in print. You will have access to all content published online from 2012 to 2017, plus selected individual titles.

Accessibility information
Oxford Handbooks Online: Political Science This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of complete titles and chapters from titles not yet available in print. You will have access to all content published online from 2012 to 2017, plus selected individual titles.

Accessibility information
Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of over 100 dictionaries, companions, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
Oxford Scholarship Online: Economics & Finance This link opens in a new window
E-books covering all areas of economics - ranging from classic thinkers to a number of modern masters - published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
Oxford Scholarship Online: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Online books covering all areas of contemporary philosophy and the history of philosophy, published by Oxford University Press.

Accessibility information
Oxford Scholarship Online: Political Science This link opens in a new window
E-books published by Oxford University Press, featuring original work across many of the key areas of the discipline, from Comparative Politics to Political Theory, International Relations to European Union Studies.

Accessibility information
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Collection of electronic texts in philosophy, covering the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, Germanic studies and sociology.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This online version of the 10 volume print edition has over 2,000 articles covering all areas of philosophy. It is regularly revised and updated and more 100 new articles have been added in the last eight years.

Accessibility information
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Please note that you will find content that you are not entitled to access.
A substantial collection of ebooks, journal articles, reference materials, cases, videos and tools for exploring all aspects of the research process from identifying and understanding particular research methods to designing research projects, conducting research and writing up findings.

Included are SAGE's "Little Green Books" (the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series) and "Little Blue Books" (the Qualitative Research Methods series).

Please note that you will also find content that you are not entitled to access.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 500 entries in 35 subject areas, including philosophy of science, aesthetics, history of ideas, feminism, ethics (theoretical and applied), social and political philosophy, and logic. New entries and updates are added on a regular basis.

Graphic novels

We have many Graphic novels available in our collection. Over the past few years we have been broadening the graphic novel collection in the hope that they will offer greater accessibility and a more inclusive environment to students with learning differences as well as those who would like to learn via a less traditional format. If you would like us to add other graphic novels to our collection, please fill in the purchase request form.

Browsing the shelves

Selected shelf locations for publications relevant to Politics:

A	Philosophy
A 70+	Morals, rights
A 72	Ethics
A 79.9	Toleration

D	Sociology
D 0.18	Social research methods
D 1.153	Social movements, revolution
D 1.24	Social change
D 1.3+	Human ecology, environment
D 1.33	Population movement, migration
D 1.433+	Women, feminism
D 9.26+	Urban development, planning

DA	Social policy
DA 1.5	Disaster relief
DA 1.53	War: humanitarian aid
DA 1.6+	Welfare state
DA 2+	Health services
DA 4+	Crime
DA 4.151	Genocide
DA 4.47	Private security
DA 5+	Prisons, penology

G	Economics
G 0.1 MAR	Marx: economic theory
G 0.15	Capitalism
G 8.9+	Economic development

H	Politics
H 0.1+	Political thought, political theory, e.g.
H 0.1 HOB	Hobbes
H 0.1 MAC	Machiavelli
H 0.1 PLA	Plato
H 0.1 ROU	Rousseau
H 0.11	Authority, power
H 0.13	Liberalism
H 0.14	Socialism
H 0.15	Communism
H 0.16	Conservatism
H 0.17	Fascism
H 0.18	Utopianism
H 0.255	Political development
H 0.258	Nationalism
H 0.9+	History of political thought
H 1+	The state; forms of government
H 1.6	Democracy, public participation
H 1.9+	Political situation by region/country, e.g.
H 1.94	Europe
H 1.942	UK
H 1.968	South Africa
H 1.973	USA
H 1.98	South America
H 2.1	Human rights
H 2.25	Citizenship
H 2.3+	Social class
H 2.42	Trade unions
H 2.44	Protest groups, direct action
H 2.45	Military, armed forces
H 2.47	Mass media
H 2.5	Civil war, terrorism
H 2.6+	Ethnicity, race relations
H 4.21+	Electoral systems
H 5+	Political parties
H 7.172	Conflict resolution
H 7.174	Disarmament
H 8+	Parliament, legislatures

HA	Public Administration
HA 0.1	Theory of governance
HA 1+	Public administration by region/country, e.g.
HA 1.4	Europe
HA 1.42	UK
HA 1.73	USA
HA 2	Central government
HA 2.21	Policy analysis
HA 2.335	Public security, prison service
HA 2.336	Public health, enviroment, climate
HA 2.337	Intelligence service
HA 2.34	Justice departments
HA 2.35	Defence departments
HA 2.393	IT and government
HA 2.5+	Civil service
HA 2.9	Accountability
HA 2.96	Public inquiries
HA 3+	Local government
HA 3.32	Local police

HB	International Relations
HB 1+	By region/country
HB 2.2	United Nations
HB 2.28	UN peacekeeping
HB 2.44 EUR	European Parliament
HB 3.028	Post-war recovery
HB 3.03	Defence policy
HB 3.032	Security treaties
HB 5.4	Nuclear weapons, chemical weapons

J	Law
J 341+	International law
J 341.26	Recognition of states
J 341.48	Human rights law
J 341.582	Embargoes, sanctions
J 341.69	War crimes
J 342+	Constitutions
J 344.046	Environmental protection law
J 347+	Civil law