Skip to Main Content
University of York Library
Library Subject Guides

Preparing for Autumn 2020

Archives and Rare Books

A guide for academic staff to help you prepare for the Library's resources and services ahead of Autumn term 2020

Archives and Rare Books

A shelf of old booksThe Borthwick Institute for Archives and Rare Books library are still here for you to provide access to our unique and distinctive collections.

This page highlights some of the ways in which we can support your teaching and research.

Digitising materials

If you would like to use our archives in your teaching, you can use our Digitised Archival Resources for Teaching service (DART). This provides high quality digital images of original archive material for use in teaching at the University of York. We will aim to provide digital images within 20 working days of a request being submitted. Read our DART web page to find out more about how it works.

Access to our site

We have created a web page to summarise our phased approach to reopening the Library buildings and to explain some of the changes that will be in place in the short term. We will update this page as we know more about what services will be available and how this will affect access to our site.

Online resources

We have lots of great online resources to help your research. While our on-site service may be closed, many of our Parish registers, Bishops’ Transcripts and Marriage Bonds and Allegations are available via Find My Past, and our Cause Papers, Archbishops' Registers, and Retreat hospital archive are available, for free, 24/7 online. We also have a suite of research guides to help you.

We have added over 14,000 new entries to our online catalogue, Borthcat during lockdown, so there’s even more to discover.

Support and advice

We’re here to support you - if you have any questions, just drop us an email via borthwick-institute@york.ac.uk and we’ll help you as much as we can.