Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Management

Find Resources

Resources for Business and Management

A huge variety of sources are required when studying Management. We've arranged them below by type - several business databases serve more than one purpose, so may appear in more than one list below.

Peer-reviewed journals

Google Scholar

Search for more academic material related to Management and Business, such as journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

When you use a campus-networked PC, Google Scholar will automatically link to the University of York library catalogue and display articles where we have full-text access. When off campus, you will need to select University of York Library in the Settings option (under Library Links).

The Business and IP Centre

If you're able to travel to London, at their St Pancras site the British Library have a Business and IP Centre. As well as being an excellent facility with expert advice, they have access to databases such as Factiva, and have been collecting their own market insights for more than 30 years. Due to licensing restrictions their e-resources can't be accessed remotely, so you'll need to be in the building to use them. More info can be found on their website: bl.uk/business-and-ip-centre.

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods logo

SAGE Research Methods exists to help social science researchers and students with their projects, consisting primarily of a collection of e-books with supporting dictionary articles, journal entries and videos.

Created by the scholarly publisher SAGE, the Research Methods collection covers all aspects of research principles and design and analysis, from hypothesis formation and literature searching to evidence-gathering and drawing conclusions.  

SAGE Research Methods will help you:

  • Design your research project
  • Understand your chosen method
  • Identify a new method
  • Conduct your research
  • Write up your findings.

Each publication in the SAGE Research Methods collection is also linked from YorSearch.

To access Sage Research Methods click on the link below.

Quick reference sources

Study Skills

For more help with writing, maths, languages and a range of other skills, be sure to take a look at the other services available through the Study Skills pages:

Finding your way around the Library

Company Information

Company information on the Web

The company's own corporate website is a good starting point for finding company information. The corporate website, developed for people who are interested in the business, usually contain annual reports and other financial information.

For example, a host of information is available on the British Airways website; the site includes a student information section for students carrying out research on the company.

Websites:

Business news

The York Management School has its own subscription to the Financial Times, which includes the most recent 30 days. This is accessible to Management students and staff via the VLE. Below are options available for all students, including the historical archive of the newspaper.

See all of our newspaper subscriptions in one place via the E-resources guide.

Business news from Reuters

Reuters logo

Loading

FT news feed

FT.com news feed

Loading

Market research

Economic and social data sources

  All of the online data collections which the Library subscribes to are listed on the E-resources Guide Datasets and Statistics list.
  • Quick reference publications such as Statesman’s Yearbook Online  provide snapshots of recent social and economic data about countries and regions. This type of resource is not suitable if you wish to investigate how an issue has changed over time.
  • The OECD.Stat interface enables you to construct a data table according to your own specifications. Data can be downloaded to Excel or SPSS for further processing.
  • Data from the UK and EU can be obtained from publicly-accessible websites.

UK statistics

  Both Passport and OECD iLibrary can be used to obtain data about the UK (and other EU countries).  However, the most in-depth collection of social and economic statistics about the UK is free-to-access on the National Statistics website, maintained by the state-run Office of National Statistics.

Other statistical sources

statistics logo