Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Law

Books and journals

Welcome to your online guide to finding resources for law.

Books

Textbooks and cases and materials books are a great place to start your research as they contain useful summaries. They also contain references to other resources that you can explore for more in-depth information when you have understood the basics. You can save time by using other people’s research as a starting point for your own.

E-book collections

You can access individual e-books via Yorsearch, but as part of the research process for your assignments and legal problems you may wish to search across e-book collections for relevant material. Here's a selection of e-book collections:

Legal skills titles

YorSearch

Try YorSearch now:   

Or access the database you need from our E-resources Guide and journals from this A-Z title list.

Journal abbreviations

References to journal articles will often just contain the abbreviated title, for example, the Criminal Law Review would be C.L.R.

To search YorSearch you will need to enter the full-title, if you are unsure what this is you can use the following resources to look up the full journal title from an abbreviation:

Databases

Bibliographic databases, compiled by academic institutions and publisher, are systematic indexes to the content of journals, books and conference proceeding. Bibliographic databases are often dedicated to a specific subject discipline. In general they do not contain the full text of the publications referred to, but there may be a link to an online full text version if one is available and subscribed to by the University of York.

Social science resources

Dependent upon you topic you may wish to broaden the scope of your research by searching some of the multidisciplinary and general social science databases.

Journals

Journals, also known as periodicals, are collections of articles published regularly. Unlike textbooks, peer-reviewed journal articles often contain more up-to-date and in-depth content. They are a fantastic source of criticism and critique and will help you to evaluate the law. Some journals focus on just one legal subject, eg Public Law, whereas others cover a variety of legal topics. Below are two examples: 

The Cambridge Law JournalPublic Law                          

Print journals

Law journals are shelved with the Law Collection (J) on the first floor of the JB Morrell Library.

Image by: Allyson