Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Education

Find resources

How to find the best resources for studying, teaching and researching education.

Books and Journals

Book shelves in the LibraryBooks are a great place to start your research. They contain useful summaries about what's happening in your field and can help you to establish the key theories and background of your research. As well as books specifically covering your subject, the Library also holds lots of titles to help you develop your study skills.

Books contain references to other resources that you can explore for more in-depth information when you have understood the basics.

 

Journals, sometimes called periodicals, are collections of articles published regularly. Articles contain the most-up-to-date research content and often go into more depth than books. They are a fantastic source of criticism and discussion of research.

How to find them

Use YorSearch, the Library catalogue. Some books will be available as e-books that you can access online from anywhere; look for the View It link in YorSearch..

Each of your modules will have a reading list of suggested books. 

Many of the books you need will be located in the K section of the Library for Education, although you may also need to look elsewhere.

 

If you know the name of the journal you need, you can search for it in YorSearch. Most journals can be accessed online by logging in with your University username and password; look for the View It link. Some will also be available in print in the Library.

 

Official Publications

The Department for Education was formed in May 2010 and is the official government department reponsible for education (excluding Higher Education) and children's services. Their website provides details of Official Education Statistics in the UK and all their Publications together with general information about schools and young people.

The Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy , was formed in July 2016, is responsible for Further and Higher Education. Publications on these areas can be found on their  website under See all Our Publications.

Note the different names and responsibilities of the Department for Education under past governments:

1839-1856  Committee of the Privy Council on Education  
1856-1899  Education Department    
1899-1944  Board of Education    
1944-1964  Ministry of Education    
1964-1992  Department of Education and Science   
1992-1995  Department for Education
1995-2001  Department for Education and Employment  
2001-2007  Department for Education and Skills - DfES
2007-2010  Department for Children, Schools and Families
2010-         Department for Education   

Department of Education New Publications

The Department for Education run a number of RSS feeds from the latest news to the latest statistical releases. This is the feed for new publications:

Loading

Legislation, Past and Present

See the Law Subject Guide for full details of searching for legal sources.

Quick links:

For current UK legislation in education, start with a search on Westlaw UK:

You may also find it helpful to look at this free online site: Legislation Online

For past legislation, search Justis:

 

Justis

Theses and Dissertations

Information about theses is available on the main Library website.

All University PhD and MPhil theses are available via YorSearch. Masters theses for some subjects are held in the Library for 6 years. 

All York research students registered in or after October 2009 are required to upload their theses into White Rose eTheses Online , a shared online respository for doctoral level theses from the Universities of York, Sheffield and Leeds.

You can also access theses from outside the University:

Databases

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

 

Key databases for Education

Additional Education related databases

Other useful databases

Conference papers

Statistics

All of the online data collections which the Library subscribes to are listed on the E-resources Guide Datasets and Statistics list.