Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Economics

Where to start looking...

Your online guide to finding resources for your research

Looking for recommended reading?

The Yorkshare VLE site for your module normally includes an EARL reading list, which links directly to library catalogue records for items in the Library's physical collections, plus e-books, e-journal articles and other web resources. Scanned extracts from Library books are uploaded to EARL when copyright permits.

Books which are essential course reading, and unavailable in e-book format, are located in the Library's Key Texts collection on the ground floor.  You can borrow a Key Text for up to four hours during the day, or overnight from 18:00 until 10:00 the following day.  Reserve a Key Text in advance via the Library Catalogue.

Books from the upper floors can usually be borrowed for longer:  flexible loans.  If all the copies of a book are on loan, you can request it. You will receive an email as soon as the book is returned to the Library, and it will be held for you in the Key Texts area.

Want to choose your own reading?

You can use the YorSearch Library Catalogue to search for material on a subject of your choice:

  • Use the default Library Catalogue search tab to find any book or e-book in the Library's collections, plus AV and multimedia resources.
  • Switch to the Search Everything tab to find records from bibliographic databases and web repositories, including journal articles, book chapters and working papers.  If the full text is freely available or paid for by the Library, a link will be provided.
  • Browse the Find e-journal list for a secure access route to every journal the Library subscribes to.

For more information about the Library's collections for Economics, including specialist search tools for your discipline, choose from the categories under the Find Economics Resources tab above.

Searching the Library Catalogue

The YorSearch Library Catalogue is accessible from any network, and also on dedicated terminals in the Library buildings.  Use it to locate books in the Library's collections, plus AV and multimedia resources.

Search it here:

Or start from the YorSearch home page for more search options.

 

A brief video overview of YorSearch