Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Economics

Journal articles

Your online guide to finding resources for your research

Finding journals

To discover which journals the Library subscribes to:

Search the YorSearch Library Catalogue for the title or subject of the journal (to locate both e-journals and print archives).

Or go directly to the A-Z list of subscribed e-journals.

Click View It for a secure link to the external host website. E-access may be offered by more than one host, so check which years are available from each service.

Google Scholar

Search for academic publications: journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.  Not everything you find is free-to-access.

When you're connected to the campus network, Google Scholar interfaces with University of York Library holdings, and provides a link to the full-text article where available.

You can set this up on any network:  from the Google Scholar settings page, choose Library Links.  Search for 'York', select 'University of York UK' from the list, and then Save.

Bibliographic databases

A bibliographic database is a searchable source of comprehensive information about publications: books, journal articles, working papers and more.

Some bibliographic databases incorporate the full text of the publications indexed.  Others interface with the Library's directory of subscriptions, to provide easy access to the full text on the host website wherever possible.

Database Guides

You can click ? in the E-resources list to access a help guide for the resource. Further helpsheets are provided below: