Subject Guides: Health Economics: News sources

Financial Times

The Financial Times
We have a full subscription to FT.com with newspaper and web content from 2005.
More info Less info
Note:
The first time you use FT.com you will need to register via the link above using your University of York email address.

After you have registered you can login direct at FT.com: Select Sign In > Enter your University of York email address > Click the SSO Sign in button > Login using your IT username and password.

You can login direct at FT.com from both on and off-campus.

Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010 This link opens in a new window
This fully-searchable facsimile edition of the FT offers the complete run of the London edition of the paper from its first issue onwards. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included and shown individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

Accessibility information

The Economist

The Economist, London edition. 2000-
In addition to online access 2000-, the Library subscribes to the printed edition: the current issue can be found in the Morrell Lounge on the ground floor, and 1991- in G Periodicals, Compact Store 1.

Economist Historical Archive, 1843 - 2015 This link opens in a new window
A complete facsimile edition of The Economist with full-colour images, topic and area supplements and surveys, a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.

Accessibility information

Nexis UK for global news and business information

Nexis This link opens in a new window
User guide
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information

Nexis UK is a major full text database for global news and business information. It gives access to over 35,000 sources, with more than 12,000 international news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, and company information for over 100 million companies worldwide.

Use Nexis UK when you want to:

find newspaper articles and trade journal articles on a business related topic
gather information about a company, industry, country and people
keep up to date on a topic of interest.

To access Nexis UK click on the link below. To help you search it effectively, refer to the user guide provided.

FT news feed

Business news from Reuters

Newspaper archives

American Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Including New York Times 1851-2009; Washington Post 1877-1996 and others.
A collection of full text archives of American newspapers with page and article facsimile images. The University has access to: Atlanta Constitution; Atlanta Daily World; Chicago Defender; Chicago Tribune; New York Times; New York Tribune; Washington Post.

Accessibility information
Guardian, 1821-2003 and Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian from 2004 onward is also available via YorSearch.
The Observer from 2004 onward is also available via YorSearch.
A full text archive of page and article facsimile images of the Guardian (1821 - 2003) and the Observer (1791 - 2003).

Accessibility information
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2019 This link opens in a new window
A full-image archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785 until 2019. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level.

For The Times from 2020 onwards see the entry: Times 1985 - present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Times of India, 1838 onwards (excluding the most recent 9 years) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Times of India current content is also available via YorSearch.
A full text archive of page and article facsimile images of The Times of India from 1838 onwards (excluding the most recent 9 years).

Accessibility information