Brings together materials on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century, in critical editions with commentaries on the source documents. Acta Sanctorum Search tips Acta Sanctorum search examples
Brings together materials on the lives of the saints from the beginning of the Christian era to the end of the sixteenth century, in critical editions with commentaries on the source documents. This database version currently contains the volumes for the ecclesiastical months from January to June.
Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language drawing on as wide a range of texts as possible. For details of those texts see the Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language drawing on as wide a range of texts as possible. For details of those texts see the Dictionary of Old English Corpus.
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (C.E. 600-1150) of the English language. It comprises at least one copy of each text surviving in Old English and encompasses a rich diversity of records covering prose, poetry, glosses to Latin texts and inscriptions.
A complete record of surviving Old English, except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
Full texts in Latin of Church fathers and others from antiquity into the Middle Ages. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livus Andonicus, 240BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Online help
Full texts in Latin of Church fathers and others from antiquity into the Middle Ages. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livus Andonicus, 240BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Texts are taken from the Corpus Christianorum and many other sources.
For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Provides translations of key medieval texts accompanied by introductory and explanatory material. Titles in the series focus on the diverse cultural and social as well as political conditions that affected the functioning of all levels of medieval society.
Thirty-four titles from the Manchester University Press Medieval Sources series providing translations of key medieval texts accompanied by introductory and explanatory material. Titles in the series focus on the diverse cultural and social as well as political conditions that affected the functioning of all levels of medieval society.
A comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500
Consists of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
The Parker Library's holdings of Old English texts account for a substantial proportion of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon, including the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890), unique copies of Old English poems and other texts, and King Alfred's translation of Gregory the Great's Pastoral Care. The Parker Library also contains key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts ranging from the Ancrene Wisse and the Brut Chronicle to one of the finest copies of Chaucer's Troilus and Criseyde. Tutorials
The Parker Library on the Web is an interactive, web-based workspace designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. It gives access to almost 200,000 manuscript page images, page images of secondary sources, manuscript descriptions, and extensive bibliographic data. Bibliographic records are linked to page images wherever possible. The manuscripts date from the 6th to 16th centuries and include works on various subjects such as theology, music, history, travel, alchemy and politics.
Comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. Its coverage includes major and minor Latin authors and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature. The works of a variety of figures are included - Hilary, Ambrose, Jerome, Boethius, Isidore, Bede, Peter Damian, Bernard, Augustine, Peter Lombard and Peter Chrysologus amongst hundreds of others.
The Patrologia Latina Database contains 221 volumes and represents a complete electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina (1844-1855 and 1862-1865).
A comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.
Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography this is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.
For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Access to bibliographic citations for journals books and essays dealing with the Middle Ages and Renaissance. It also contains reviews, conference proceedings and festschriften.
A gateway to electronic resources for the study of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Its content includes:
- Iter Bibliography covering research in this period.
- International Directory of Scholars
- The Medici Archive Project
- Aestimatio which provides a critical assessment of scientific manuscripts and books from antiquity to the early modern period.
A searchable, online library of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, prose and drama. It includes the full text of works such as the Chester Plays, morality plays, Geoffrey Chaucer and William Langland.
This resource is a searchable, online library of over 300,000 works of English and American poetry, prose and drama. It also provides access to a growing collection of online journals, reference works, author biographies and the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL).
For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
This bibliography contains citations for journal articles, books, book chapters and theses in literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
This bibliography contains citations for journal articles, books, book chapters and theses in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. It is the major literature bibliography.
The publication years covered by this resource are from the 1920s onwards.
For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
Chaucer Review Studies of language, sources, social and political contexts, aesthetics, and associated meanings of Chaucer's poetry, as well as articles on medieval literature, philosophy, theology, and mythography relevant to study of the poet and his contemporaries, predecessors, and audiences.
Exemplaria; a Journal of Theory in Medieval & Renaissance Studies Providing a forum for different terminologies and different approaches, it has included symposia and special issues on teaching Chaucer, women, history and literature, rhetoric, medieval noise, and Jewish medieval studies and literary theory.
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies Fosters rigorous investigation of historiographical representations of European and western Asian cultural forms from late antiquity to the seventeenth century. Its topics include art, literature, theatre, music, philosophy, theology, and history, and it embraces material objects as well as texts; women as well as men; merchants, workers, and audiences as well as patrons; Jews and Muslims as well as Christians.
Journal of Medieval History Meets the need for a major international publication devoted to all aspects of the history of Europe in the Middle Ages. Each issue comprises around four or five articles on European history, including Britain and Ireland, between the fall of Rome and the Renaissance
Mediaeval Studies Most volumes are divided into three sections: "Texts" includes extensive editions with substantial introductions; "Articles" includes studies based on unedited or edited documents and texts and also includes studies of other monuments of medieval culture; "Mediaevalia" consists of notices or short articles on specific documents or topics.
Medium Aevum Contains articles, notes, review articles and reviews on a range of medieval linguistic and literary topics in all major European languages
Speculum: a journal of mediaeval studies Any and all aspects of the Middle Ages, including art, history, literature, philosophy and theology, music, science, law, and economics
Important Text Collections
Early English Text Society All the titles can be searched for individually using the library catalogue. Within the catalogue record you will find the number of the volume and which series it belongs to. Most of the works attributed to King Alfred or to Aelfric, along with some of those by bishop Wulfstan and much anonymous prose and verse from the pre-Conquest period, are to be found within the Society's three series; all of the surviving medieval drama (with the exception of the York Plays, due for publication within the next three years), most of the Middle English romances, much religious and secular prose and verse including the English works of John Gower, Thomas Hoccleve and most of Caxton's prints all find their place in the publications.
Camden Society Series This series comprises of 325 volumes in 5 series. The volumes are kept in the following locations in the JBM and RBL Libraries:
Old Series, Vol. 1 (1837)-v.104 (1871) = RBL Special Collections.
New Series, Vol. 1 (1871) – v.61 (1899), = Q journal section in the JBM Library.
Third Series, Vol. 1 (1900) – v. 94 (1963) = Q journal section in the JBM Library.
Fourth Series, Vol. 1-44(1964-1992) = Q journal section in the JBM Library.
Fifth Series, Vol.1 (1993) - onwards = Q journal section in the JBM Library.
The volumes of the Camden Society Series which are shelved in the journal section of 'Q' can be borrowed as an ordinary loan items. The Old, New and Third series are shelved under 'Camden'. The Fourth and Fifth series are shelved under 'Royal Historical Society'. All the titles can be searched for individually using the library catalogue.
Microfilms
Anglo-Saxon manuscripts in microfiche facsimile: volumes 1 - 14 Contains v. 1. Books of prayers and healing -- v. 2. Psalters --v. 3. Anglo-Saxon gospels -- v. 4. Glossed texts, Aldhelmiana, psalms -- v. 5. Lantin manuscripts with Anglo-Saxon glosses
Mirfield Collection Contains much valuable early material. All the pre-1800 books, plus a few sets of the publications of historical record societies, such as the Royal Historical Society, and the Surtees Society, were deposited here on permanent loan in 1973. There are several incunabula, including an edition of St. Augustine's De civitate Dei, printed by Nicolas Jenson in Venice, 1475. Although the books are predominantly theological, there are many interesting works in other subjects: for example, the first collected edition of the works of Sir Philip Sidney (1598)
You may find the following links helpful for Medieval Literature. These lists are dynamic so do check them regularly for new sites. If you have any sites that you would like to add, all suggestions are very welcome. Please email the liaison librarian.
Websites: Dictionaries and Reference
Medieval Websites: Dictionaries and Reference
Websites: Full Text, Anthologies and Digitized Works
