Library Subject Guides
Comprehensive coverage of the dynamic world of theatre both in the United States and abroad. Informs readers about the important and significant work being done in regional productions and about the current theatre scene with coverage of plays and playwrights, funding and people of the stage.
Analyses what is most passionate and vital in theatre and encompasses a wide variety of theatres, from new playwrights and devisors to theatres of movement, image and other forms of physical expression, from new acting methods to music theatre and multi-media production work. Recognising the plurality of contemporary performance practices, it encourages contributions on physical theatre, opera, dance, design and the increasingly blurred boundaries between the physical and the visual arts.
Publishes full-length articles that contribute to the varied conversations in dramatic theory and criticism, explore the relationship between theory and theatre practice, and/or examine recent scholarship.
Distinguished by the excellence of its close readings of both canonical and lesser known dramatic texts through a range of methodological perspectives. The journal features refereed articles that enhance our understanding of plays in both formal and historical terms, largely treating literature of the past two centuries from diverse geo-political contexts.
Extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, essays, interviews and dialogues, historical documentation, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Refereed journal committed to publishing articles in the vanguard of Shakespeare studies and brings to light new information on Shakespeare and his age. Performance essays consider significant Shakespeare productions, and book reviews keep readers current with Shakespeare criticism and scholarship.
Focuses on performances in their social, economic, and political contexts. The journal covers dance, theatre, performance art, visual art, popular entertainment, media, sports, rituals, and performance in politics and everyday life.
This collection attempts to reproduce every British play written during the 19th century. It includes historical drama, melodrama, comic pantomime, extravaganzas, satiric comedies and burlettas. The collection covers manuscripts, prompt books, acting editions and published plays.
The collection contains over 5,000 plays. It includes every important play published in the English languagein England from the year 1500 through 1800, and in the United States from 1714 through 1830, together with manuscriptsnever before published. Included are earliest editions available, and also editions valuable for their texts, dating, rarity, inaccessibility to the public, and literary significance in the history of drama. For example, included is the Malone Variorum of Shakespeare's works (1821), as well as many adaptations of Shakespeare's plays presented in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries.
The diary includes:
Innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, and visual media. Its debates, essays, interviews, and summary pieces encompass a spectrum of media practices, including avant-garde, alternative, fringe, international, and mainstream.
Dedicated to reviews and articles relating to films, videos, book reviews and journals.
Scholarly analyses of international cinemas, current blockbusters and Hollywood classics, documentaries, animation, and independent, avant-garde, and experimental film and video. In-depth articles and reviews examine all aspects of film history, film theory, and the impact of film, video, and television on culture, society, and the academy.
Focuses on scholarship in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics. Article features include film and related media, problems of education in these fields, and the function of film and video in society.
Uses the methods of popular culture studies to examine commercial film and television, historical and contemporary. Articles discuss networks, genres, series, and audiences, as well as celebrity stars, directors, and studios. Regular features include essays on the social and cultural background of films and television programs, filmographies, bibliographies, and commissioned book and video reviews.
Includes film reviews, features and commentary, film and TV issues, world and classic cinema, and story archives.
You may find the following links helpful for Theatre and Film. These lists are dynamic so do check them regularly for new sites. If you have any sites that you would like to add, all suggestions are very welcome. Please email the liaison librarian.