Skip to main content
Subject Guides

Biology

Find resources

Welcome to your online guide to finding resources for Biology

Choosing the right resources

As a Biology student, you are expected to find and use high quality literature. You'll need to use a range of different sources and demonstrate your ability to find good results in order to impress your tutors and to develop your research skills.

Finding Journals

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by doing a title search.

Click on the journal title to see the library’s print holdings or the View It link to navigate through to the full-text journal online, if available. Electronic access may be offered by more than one link (e.g. Royal Society of Chemistry or Elsevier SD Freedom Collection) so check which years are available. 

Finding Books

Biology books are located in the X section on the third floor of the JB Morrell Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

 

Accessing Biology past exam papers

Examination papers for 2001- 2012 have been digitised and are available to University of York members via York Digital Library (YODL). Login to YODL before you start searching.

Note that we do not hold a comprehensive collection of all examination papers set, only those which have been released to the Library.

 

Google Scholar

Search for academic materials like journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports.

When you use a campus-networked PC, Google Scholar will automatically link to the University of York library catalogue and display articles where we have full-text access. When off campus, you will need to select University of York - Full Text @ York in the Settings option (under Library Links).

Watch our Google Scholar video for more information.

Databases

Shelves and PCs

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

To get the most out of searching the databases you need to plan your search in advance and think about which keywords you are going to use. Use the tutorials on the right-hand side of the page to learn more about this.

Key databases for Biology
Additional chemistry-related resources

Search skills


Accessing texts

Find It @ YorkClicking Find It @ York in a database will check YorSearch to see if we have a copy of what you've found.

If we don't have it...

We can't afford to buy a copy of everything ever. If we don't have what you need, here are some options:

Theses & dissertations

University of York PhD/MPhil theses and Masters dissertations, plus theses and dissertations from other institutions.

Suggested web resources

Loading