Subject Guides: Archaeology: Resources

Books

Books can be a great place to start your reading around a topic.

Archaeology books are located in the P section on the second floor of the JB Morrell Library. There is also a small selection of Archaeology texts at the King's Manor Library. Many books will also be available online as e-books. Look for the links in YorSearch, under the View It section of each book.

Shelf location	Subject
C	Religion
P	Archaeology
Q	History
W	Geology
X	Biology

Search for books and journals on YorSearch

Journals & databases

All journal titles are listed on YorSearch, and can be found by searching the journal title.

If you don't have a specific title in mind, you can browse journals in your subject area on Browzine. Journals are organised by field of research, such as:

Browse all Arts and Humanities

History

Medieval/Renaissance Studies

This is a selection of free online archaeology resources covering a range of topics and resource types.

ARIADNEplus
Archaeology research community
Ashmolean ceramics
The Ashmolean's online ceramics collection.
CIfA (Chartered Institute for Archaeologists)
Information on standards, ethics and field archaeology.
City of York Historic Environment Characterisation Project
Part of English Heritage's characterisation programme, an excellent free tool for tracing changes to the historic environment in York through archaeological and historical evidence.
Granger Historical Picture Archive
Over 850,000 hi-res digitised historical images available for download
Historic England
Useful information on conservation, research and education.
Historic England - Aerial Archaeology Mapping Explorer
Historic England has made the results of over 30 years of aerial photograph mapping projects freely available online. Use it to explore heritage from ancient settlements to secret Cold War military installations, or to see the complex archaeological landscapes of Hadrian’s Wall, Stonehenge and so much in between.
Historic Environment Scotland
Government department of interest to archaeologists (formerly Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland).
Pelagios Network
A network of researchers, scientists and curators to explore historical place information.
Perseus Project
Online encyclopaedia with ancient Greek and Latin texts in original language and translation.
Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales
Government department of interest to archaeologists.
ScienceResearch.com
Allows cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
Searchable Greek Inscriptions
Searchable collection of ancient Greek inscriptions.
World Wide Science
World Wide Science is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.
York Archbishops' Registers
York's Archbishops Registers Revealed provides free access to over 20,000 images of Registers produced by the Archbishops of York, 1225-1650, in addition to a growing searchable index of names, subjects, places and organisations. The registers are a valuable, and in many cases, unexploited source for ecclesiastical, political, social, local and family history - covering periods of war, famine, political strife and religious reformation in the Archdiocese of York and the wider Northern Province.

Audiovisual collections
Map resources
Rare Books Collection
Theses and Dissertations
York Digital Library
Our Digital Library provides access to a diverse range of digitised collections which can support a variety of subjects. Our collections are constantly expanding, so keep checking back to see what’s new.

Databases

To start a more detailed search for articles and other research evidence, you'll need to use online databases. These are collections of resources that allow you to search for articles from hundreds of different journals at the same time.

Annual Register: A Record of World Events (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758.

Accessibility information
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Index to current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource. Its powerful search engine makes precision research quick and easy.

AnthroSource is more than a content collection. It is an evolving, interactive repository of research and communications tools designed to bring the most credible and relevant of anthropological scholarship together in one place and to support a strong community of scholars, teachers, and students in the field.

Accessibility information

Archaeology Data Service
ArchSearch - national sites and monuments metadata
Archives - data-rich archaeological collections
ADS Library - journals, books and reports; incorporating BIAB.
More info Less info
Based in York, the Archaeology Data Service supports research, learning and teaching with freely available, high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology. The ADS promotes good practice in the use of digital data in archaeology, it provides technical advice to the research community, and supports the deployment of digital technologies.

BIAB: the British & Irish Archaeological Bibliography (via ADS Library) This link opens in a new window
The BIAB online database contains datasets covering publications from AD 1695 to the present day on archaeology and the historic environment, historic buildings, maritime and industrial archaeology, environmental history, and the conservation of material culture - with a geographical focus on Britain and Ireland.

Accessibility information
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepolis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Previously known as the Royal Historical Society Bibliography this is a comprehensive guide to historical writing about the history of Britain, Ireland, and the British overseas from 55BC to the present.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is the major bibliographic resource for 19th century research, providing integrated access to 10 indexes covering books, official publications, archives, newspapers, and periodicals at the article level. Currently C19 contains nearly 17 million records but is continuously updated as more records become available.

Accessibility information
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The full-text of volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. The volumes are grouped into topics covering: American History; British History; Economic History; General History; History of Science; History of the Book; Language and Linguistics; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Regional History; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; Warfare.

Accessibility information
Digimap This link opens in a new window
You will need to register for an account the first time you access Digimap.
Maps and map data of Great Britain. The University subscribes to:

- Digimap Ordnance Survey Collection
- Historic Digimap
- Geology Digimap
- Marine Digimap
- Environment Digimap
- Aerial Digimap
- Lidar Digimap
- agCensus Digimap

For Digimap help and information see the Digimap Resource Centre.

Accessibility information
Early English Books Online [EEBO] (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Accessibility information
eHRAF Archaeology [accessible until 30/06/2024] This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of mostly prehistoric archaeological traditions from around the world. The information is organized by tradition, region, subregion and subsistence type and is indexed at the paragraph level by Human Relations Area Files anthropologists using unique subject identifier codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

Accessibility information
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life from historical to contemporary time periods. The contents are organized by regions, subregions, and cultures and cover over 300 cultures. The material is indexed at the paragraph level by Human Relations Area Files anthropologists using unique subject identifier codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).

Accessibility information
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) is the most ambitious single digitisation project ever undertaken which offers wide access not only to a century of the nation's intellectual heritage, but also works from earlier periods which were valued and printed or reprinted during the eighteenth century.

A library of over 180,000 eighteenth-century printed books, with more than 33 million scanned facsimile pages. Each title has a full citation record from the English Short Title Catalogue and is fully searchable - including full-text and illustrations multi-disciplinary. A research resource for all disciplines.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Europeana: the cultural collections of Europe This link opens in a new window
A portal which gives access to digitized books, maps, photographs, film clips, newspapers, paintings, museum objects and archival records drawn from Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections.

Accessibility information
International Medieval Bibliography Online (Brepolis) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

The publication years covered by this resource are from 1967 onwards.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For alumni access please the Virtual Library JSTOR section on Alumni Learning.
A digital archive collection of core scholarly journals starting with the first issues (many of which date from the 1800s). See JSTOR's online help guide for further information.

Accessibility information
Locating London's Past This link opens in a new window
An interactive map, exploring the social history of early modern and eighteenth century London. Information is drawn from a variety of resources, and includes trial acts from the Old Bailey and archaeological data.
New Pauly Online (Brill) This link opens in a new window
New Pauly Online consists of the complete original Der Neue Pauly in German and Brills New Pauly, the English translation of this major encyclopaedia of the ancient world. Brills New Pauly is automatically updated when a new volume is published. Please note that if you are using this resource from a PC which is not on the University network you may need to download and install new fonts in order to display the special characters used in the articles and entries. Advice about recommended fonts can be found on the Brill Online help page.

Accessibility information
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Personalisation is available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Nexis.
Nexis is a major source of global news and business information. It provides full-text access to over 34,000 publications, with more than 12,000 news sources including UK daily and regional newspapers, current affairs magazines, and professional journals. Updated daily; back issues archive varies by title.

Nexis also includes 80 sources of company information, plus thousands of biographies of government officials, politicians, celebrities, investors and business contacts.

Accessibility information
Oxford Handbooks Online: Archaeology This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of complete titles and chapters from titles not yet available in print. You will have access to all content published online up to and including the year 2022, plus selected individual titles.

Accessibility information
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
A major online archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the page image of a growing number of digitized periodicals that are already indexed in the Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).

The University has access to Collections 1, 2 and 8 plus a selection of 130 titles purchased by JISC drawn from other collections.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

Accessibility information
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
The world's largest full-text scientific database of journals in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Personalisation options are available via the link above.

Alternative link without personalisation if you have problems with the link above (please clear the cookies and cache in your browser): Scopus.
An abstracting, indexing and citation database covering peer-reviewed research literature and web sources in the natural sciences and medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.
For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.
For further information about Scopus metrics see Elsevier's Research Metrics Guidebook.

Accessibility information
University Press Scholarship Online: Archaeology This link opens in a new window
Access to ebook titles from a variety of university presses covering a range of areas in archaeology.

Accessibility information
Vision of Britain Through Time This link opens in a new window
Created by the Great Britain Historical GIS Project, this resource shows how Britain and it's localities have changed over the centuries by giving access to historical statistics, maps, census reports and travel writing.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

For help with this resource, take a look at our Quick Guide.

For help using this resource for bibliometrics see Bibliometrics: a practical guide.

Accessibility information
Wiley Online Library - Journals This link opens in a new window
A large collection of several hundred full-text journals across a variety of subject areas in the life, physical, medical, technical and social sciences.

Accessibility information

Archaeology

Resources

Finding Resources

Books

Books

Journals & databases

Journals

Websites

Databases

Databases and eResources